This is an official version.


Copyright © 2008: Queens Printer,
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Important Information
(Includes details about the availability of printed and electronic versions of the Statutes.)


Table of Regulations

Main Site

How current is this regulation?



Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs Notice, 2003
under the
Executive Council Act
(O.C. 2003-377)

(Filed July 21, 2003 )

Under the authority of section 5 of the Executive Council Act , the Lieutenant-Governor in Council gives the following Notice.

Dated at St. Johns , July 11, 2003 .

Tim Murphy
Deputy Clerk of the Executive Council



Short title

        1. This Notice may be cited as the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs Notice, 2003 .

Back to Top


        2. In this Notice

             (a)  "department" means the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs; and

             (b)  "minister" means the Minister of Municipal and Provincial Affairs.

Back to Top

Departmental structure confirmed

        3. (1) The departmental structure is confirmed by Order in Council 2003-377 and consists of 3 branches as follows:

             (a)  Engineering Services;

             (b)  Municipal Support Services; and

             (c)  Policy and Planning.

             (2)  The department is presided over by the minister.

Back to Top

Powers and duties of the minister

        4. The powers, functions and duties of the minister include the supervision, control and direction of all matters relating to

             (a)  provincial affairs;

             (b)  municipal affairs;

             (c)  housing;

             (d)  the operation of waterworks as set out in the Municipal Affairs Act ; and

             (e)  the administration of the Acts set out in the Schedule and of all orders and regulations passed or made under those Acts, including those powers, functions or duties necessary or desirable for carrying out the purpose of those Acts,

which are not, or in so far as they are not, the responsibility of another minister, agency, body, corporation, board, organization or person.

Back to Top

Minister is Registrar General

        5. (1) The minister is appointed the Registrar General under subsection 4(2) of the Executive Council Act .

             (2)  The minister has the powers, duties and functions of the Registrar General under subsection 4(3) of the Executive Council Act.

Back to Top


        6. The Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs Notice , Newfoundland and Labrador Regulation 69/96, is repealed.

Back to Top


               1.  Assessment Act

               2.  Avian Emblem Act

               3.  Building Standards Act (with Government Services and Lands)

               4.  City of Corner Brook Act

               5.  City of Mount Pearl Act

               6.  City of St. Johns Act

               7.  Coat of Arms Act

               8.  Commemoration Day Act

               9.  Crown Corporations Local Taxation Act

             10.  Emergency Measures Act

             11.  Evacuated Communities Act

             12.  Family Homes Expropriation Act (with Works, Services and Transportation)

             13.  Fire Prevention Act, 1991 (with Government Services and Lands)

             14.  Firefighters Protection Act

             15.  Floral Emblem Act

             16.  Housing Act

             17.  Housing Association Loans Act

             18.  Housing Corporation Act

             19.  Labrador Act

             20.  Mineral Emblem Act

             21.  Municipal Affairs Act

             22.  Municipal Authorities Amendment Act, 1991

             23.  Municipal Elections Act

             24.  Municipalities Act, 1999

             25.  Provincial Anthem Act

             26.  Provincial Flag Act

             27.  Regional Service Boards Act

             28.  Remembrance Day Act

             29.  St. Johns Assessment Act

             30.  St. Johns Centennial Foundation Act

             31.  St. Johns Municipal Council Parks Act

             32.  Standard Time Act

             33.  Taxation of Utilities and Cable Television Companies Act (with Finance)

             34.  Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000 (with Government Services and Lands)