Tuesday, July 23rd, 2019

The House met at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for St. George's – Humber (Mr. Reid) made a Statement to commend Dave Higdon and other members of the Forget-Me-Not Committee upon the unveiling of additions to the Danger Tree sculpture.

The Member for Mount Scio (Ms. Stoodley) made a Statement to congratulate the Rabbittown Community Centre for their creative and ingenious painting project designed to be visible to drivers and slow traffic.

The Member for Stephenville – Port au Port (Mr. Wakeham) made a Statement to congratulate the Stephenville Theatre Festival now in its 41st season.

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. Petten) made a Statement to congratulate Mr. Woodrow French who was the driving force behind establishment of the recent Passengers Bill of Rights brought into effect on July 15th with phase 2 to be implemented in December.

The Member for Grand Falls – Buchans (Mr. Tibbs) made a Statement to congratulate Mr. Joshua Gardner, Newfoundland and Labrador's Male Athlete of the Year.

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late retired RNC Chief Robert Johnston.

The Honourable the Minister of Health and Community Services (Mr. Haggie) made a Statement to congratulate CEO David Diamond on achieving communications excellence at the 2019 International Association of Business Communicators' Pinnacle Awards.

The Honourable the Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation (Mr. Mitchelmore) made a Statement to recognize the achievement of the Shallaway Youth Choir which won gold in the gospel category, silver in the contemporary category and third overall at the prestigious Seghizzi Choral Grand Prix.

The Member for Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune (Mr. Loveless) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following Resolution:

"WHEREAS the Premier's Task Force on Improving Educational Outcomes and the Education Action Plan both recommended developing a phased-in implementation plan for Junior Kindergarten;

Tuesday, July 23rd, 2019

AND WHEREAS Ontario, the Northwest Territories and Nova Scotia have implemented or are in the process of implementing province-wide junior kindergarten;

AND WHEREAS play-based learning promotes children's natural sense of curiosity and discovery through hands-on exploration of the world around them;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House supports the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador in taking necessary steps towards establishing a Junior Kindergarten program".

The Honourable the Minister of Service NL (Ms. Gambin-Walsh) gave notice that she would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act To Amend The Highway Traffic Act" (Bill No. 5).

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) announced, pursuant to Standing Order 63(3), that the Resolution of which the member for Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune (Mr. Loveless) had given notice would be debated later the week.

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Parsons) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act Respecting The Supreme Court In The Province" (Bill No. 7).

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Parsons) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act Respecting Disclosure Of Information Under An Interpersonal Violence Disclosure Protocol" (Bill No. 6).

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following motion:

"WHEREAS in accordance with subsection 38(1) of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, the Commissioner for Legislative Standards has submitted a report respecting his opinion on a matter referred to him under the authority of subsection 36(1) of that Act;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this House of Assembly concur in *The Parsons Report* of June 25, 2019."

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following motion:

Tuesday, July 23rd, 2019

"WHEREAS section 85 of the *Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 2015,* provides that the Office of Information and Privacy Commissioner shall be filled by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council on a resolution of the House of Assembly;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Michael Harvey be appointed as the Information and Privacy Commissioner effective August 5, 2019."

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Forsey) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to restore the 24-hour emergency service to the Dr. Hugh Twomey Health Centre immediately.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Dinn) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to eliminate the 1.6 km policy for all Elementary Schools in the Province and in Junior and Senior High Schools where safety is a primary concern.

The Honourable the Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development (Mr. Warr) replied to the Petition.

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) asked leave to debate the Resolution respecting the appointment of the Information and Privacy Commissioner.

By leave, pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons):

"WHEREAS section 85 of the *Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 2015,* provides that the office of Information and Privacy Commissioner shall be filled by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council on a resolution of the House of Assembly;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Michael Harvey be appointed as the Information and Privacy Commissioner effective August 5, 2019."

The Speaker put the question and declared the motion carried.

On motion the House adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.