Wednesday, June 10th, 2020

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Windsor Lake (Mr. Crosbie) made a Statement to congratulate Mr. Ruwei Liang and his family on their ongoing success having opened a restaurant in the middle of a pandemic.

The Member for St. John's Centre (Mr. Dinn) made a Statement to recognize the support Daffodil Place provides for cancer patients and their families and caregivers who must travel to St. John's for treatment.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Dinn) made a Statement to wish Ida Peet a Happy 100th Birthday celebrated on April 27th, 2020.

The Member for Placentia West – Bellevue (Mr. Dwyer) made a Statement to congratulate Mrs. Jessie Wareham who celebrated her 100th birthday on May 21st, 2020.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Ms. Evans) made a Statement to pay tribute to Toby Andersen for his dedication to the Labrador Inuit.

The Honourable the Minister of Service NL (Mr. Osborne) made a Statement to inform the House that in-person services for written and practical driver examinations are resuming with safety measures in place.

The Honourable the Minister of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation (Mr. Davis) made a Statement to advise the House that applications are now being accepted for the new Tourism and Hospitality Support Programme.

The Member for Grand Falls – Windsor – Buchans (Mr. Tibbs) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to ensure that there will be no positions lost at the Lab in Grand Falls – Windsor and no reduction in services so that the Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre will remain the main Hub for Lab services in Central Newfoundland.

The Member for Harbour Main (Ms. Conway Ottenheimer) presented a Petition (uncertified) from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to develop a childcare strategy that will provide affordable, accessible and quality childcare for Newfoundland and Labrador parents of different economic and social backgrounds.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Lake Melville (Mr. Trimper):

Wednesday, June 10th, 2020

"WHEREAS Newfoundland and Labrador's offshore oil is one of the least carbon intensive extractive crudes and emits significantly less greenhouse gas emissions than other oil-producing jurisdictions per barrel of oil extracted;

AND WHEREAS upon completion of the Muskrat Falls Hydroelectric Project and the forthcoming closure of the Holyrood Generating Station, 98 percent of electricity consumed in the Province will be generated from renewable energy;

AND WHEREAS in March of 2019 the Provincial Government released "The Way Forward on Climate Change", a 5-year action plan which outlined 33 actions to reduce provincial greenhouse gas emissions and 17 actions to build resilience to climate impacts;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House supports the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador in their commitment to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050."

During the debate the Member for St. John's Centre (Mr. Dinn) moved, seconded by the Member for Labrador West (Ms. Evans), the following amendment:

"That the final cause of the motion be amended by adding immediately after the year "2050" a comma and the words "which will include detailed multi-year plans with clearly defined hard targets."

The Speaker (Mr. Bennett) suspended the proceedings at 3:44 o'clock in the afternoon to consider the amendment.

The Speaker (Mr. Bennett) resumed the Chair at 3:49 o'clock in the afternoon and ruled the amendment in order.

Debate continued on the amendment and the Resolution itself.

The Speaker put the question on the amendment and declared the amendment carried.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution as amended and declared the Resolution as amended carried.

Wednesday, June 10th, 2020

The Speaker then adjourned the House until Thursday at 1:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.