The House met at 10:00 o'clock in the morning pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced on the following motion standing in the name of the Chair of the Standing Orders Committee (Ms. Coady):

"That the House of Assembly concur in the report of the Standing Orders Committee dated September 14, 2020".

During the debate the Member Mount Pearl – Southlands (Mr. Lane), seconded by the Member for Humber – Bay of Islands (Mr. Joyce), moved the following amendment:

"That recommendation (3) of the Report be amended by inserting immediately after the words "House leaders" the words "and any independent Members."

The Speaker suspended the proceedings at 11:06 o'clock to consider the amendment.

The Speaker resumed the Chair at 11:16 o'clock and ruled the amendment in order.

Debate commenced and concluded on the amendment.

The Speaker put the question and declared the amendment defeated.

Debate continued and concluded on the motion.

The Speaker put the question and declared the motion carried.

Pursuant to Standing Order 9(1)(b) the sitting was suspended at 11:57 a.m. The Speaker resumed the Chair at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon.

The Member for Terra Nova (Mr. Parrott) made a Statement to recognize Mr. Craig Haines for his efforts to congratulate high school graduates during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Forsey) made a Statement to recognize Ms. Courtney Locke for being awarded the 2020 Ted Rogers Scholarship.

The Member for Placentia – St. Mary's (Ms. Gambin-Walsh) made a Statement to recognize Ms. Addison Stead for winning the Dildo Community Flag Contest.

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. Petten) made a Statement to recognize parents, students and teachers for their patience and understanding on the return to school following the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Member for Grand Falls – Windsor – Buchans (Mr. Tibbs) made a Statement to recognize rotational workers who leave their homes and province for weeks and months to support their families.

By leave, the Member for Lewisporte – Twillingate (Mr. Bennett) made a Statement to recognize the community of Twillingate on being awarded the title of Kraft Hockeyville 2020.

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Crocker) made a Statement to recognize the first graduates of Drug Treatment Court.

The Honourable the Minister Responsible for the Status of Women (Ms. Dempster) made a Statement to recognize Sexual Violence Awareness Week from September 14^{th} – 20^{th} .

The Honourable the Minister of Finance (Ms. Coady) tabled, pursuant to paragraph 26(5)(a) of the **Financial Administration Act**, the following pre-commitments:

- (a) Order in Council 2020-120 which authorized the Department of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation to pre-commit up to \$160,000 in fiscal years 2021-22 and 2022-23 and up to \$40,000 in fiscal year 2023-24 to facilitate the awarding of a contract to The Call Centre Inc. for the provision of tourism information, trip planning, and trip counselling services;
- (b) Order in Council 2020-126 which authorized the Department of Transportation and Works to pre-commit \$89,824 against its budgetary appropriations for fiscal year 2020-21 to enter into a lease agreement with Memorial University of Newfoundland for office space in St. John's;
- (c) Order in Council 2020-172 which authorized for the purpose of awarding and entering into a contract with Canadian Helicopters Ltd. for the provision of helicopter services, as follows:
 - (i) the Department of Fisheries and Land Resources to pre-commit up to \$2,031,400 in each of 2021-22 and 2022-23 and up to \$169,300 in 2023-24 against its budgetary appropriations;

- (ii) the Department of Transportation and Works to pre-commit up to \$933,200 in each of 2021-22 and 2022-23 and up to \$77,800 in 2023-24 against its budgetary appropriations;
- (iii) the Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment to pre-commit up to \$236,000 in each of 2021-22 and 2022-23 and up to \$19,700 in 2023-24 against its budgetary appropriations;
- (iv) the Department of Natural Resources to pre-commit up to \$192,300 in each of 2021-22 and 2022-23 and up to \$16,000 in 2023-24 against its budgetary appropriations; and,
- (v) the Department of Health and Community Services to pre-commit up to \$120,600 in each of 2021-22 and 2022-23 and up to \$10,100 in 2023-24 against its budgetary appropriations.

The Member for Placentia West – Bellevue (Mr. Dwyer) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to expedite the process to get the Bull Arm Fabrication Site back in operation.

The Honourable the Minister of Industry, Energy and Technology (Mr. Parsons) replied to the Petition.

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Forsey) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to restore the 24-hour emergency service to the Dr. Hugh Twomey Health Centre immediately.

The Honourable the Minister of Health and Community Services (Mr. Haggie) replied to the Petition.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Lake Melville (Mr. Trimper):

"WHEREAS this Government is aggressively investing and partnering with farmers, harvesters and food producers;

AND WHEREAS traditional industries, such as agriculture, are important economic drivers and help to diversify the economy;

AND WHEREAS the COVID-19 pandemic has further identified the importance of local gardens, country food and the agricultural sector in Newfoundland and Labrador;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Assembly supports the continued growth of the agricultural sector and supports the initiatives of Government to meet the goal of increasing Provincial food self-sufficiency to 20 percent by 2022".

The Speaker put the question and declared the Resolution carried.

The Speaker then adjourned the House until Thursday at 1:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.