The House met at 1:30 p.m.

ROUTINE PROCEEDINGS

Members' Statements

The following Members provided statements:

The Member for Terra Nova (L. Parrott) recognizing founding members of the Clarenville Nordic Ski Club.

The Member for Stephenville - Port au Port (T. Wakeham) recognizing the community service of Eileen Hann of Port au Port East.

The Member for Burin - Grand Bank (P. Pike) recognizing the community service of Clem Benteau of Point May.

The Member for St. George's - Humber (S. Reid) recognizing the work of the Newfoundland and Labrador Aboriginal Women's Network, in particular their "Remembering Our Sisters Through Community" project.

The Member for Bonavista (C. Pardy) recognizing Nathan Snow of St. John's for saving the lives of the Coles family of Sweet Bay.

The Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (E. Loveless), with leave, recognizing the passing of Anthony Casey of Harbour Breton.

The Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay (B. Warr), with leave, recognizing Maggie Short of South Brook on their 107th birthday.

Ministerial Statements

The following Ministers provided statements:

The Minister of Digital Government and Service NL (S. Stoodley) recognizing November 16 as World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims.

The Members for Ferryland (L. O'Driscoll) and Labrador West (J. Brown)

responded to the statement.

Oral Questions

The House proceeded to Oral Questions.

Presenting Reports by Standing and Select Committees

There were no reports by Standing or Select Committees presented.

Tabling of Documents

There were no documents tabled.

Notices of Motion

There were no notices of motion.

Answers to Questions for Which Notice Has Been Given

There were no answers to questions for which notice had been given.

Petitions

The following Members presented petitions:

The Member for Harbour Main (H. Conway Ottenheimer) regarding road conditions in the district.

The Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans (C. Tibbs) regarding the repair of logging roads in the district.

The Member for Stephenville - Port au Port (T. Wakeham) regarding replacement of the Bay St. George long-term care home.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (L. Evans) regarding electricity rates in Northern Labrador.

Tuesday, November 16, 2021

The Member for Humber - Bay of Islands (E. Joyce) regarding access to motor vehicle registration services in the province.

The Minister of Digital Government and Service NL (S. Stoodley) replied to the petition.

ORDERS OF THE DAY

The Speaker called orders of the day.

Pursuant to order and on motion, the following bill was read the third time and passed:

A bill, "An Act To Amend The Law Society Act, 1999" (Bill 42).

The Sergeant-at-Arms announced the arrival of the Lieutenant Governor.

The Lieutenant Governor took the Chair.

The Speaker addressed the Lieutenant Governor, as follows:

"May it please Your Honour, the General Assembly of the Province has at its present session passed several bills, to which, in the name and on behalf of the General Assembly, I respectfully request Your Honour's assent."

The Clerk read the following bills:

A bill,	"An Act to Amend the Securities Act" (Bill 16);
A bill,	"An Act to Amend the Lotteries Act" (Bill 18);
A bill,	"An Act Respecting Off-Road Vehicles" (Bill 22);
A bill,	"An Act to Amend the Automobile Insurance Act" (Bill 23);
A bill,	"An Act to Amend the Corporations Act" (Bill 24);
A bill,	"An Act Respecting the Protection of Adults" (Bill 40); and
A bill,	"An Act to Amend the Law Society Act, 1999" (Bill 42).

The Lieutenant Governor then said, "In Her Majesty's Name, I assent to these bills."

Tuesday, November 16, 2021

The Lieutenant Governor left the Chamber.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Leader of the Opposition (D. Brazil), the Leader of the Third Party (J. Dinn), the Leader of the Government in the House (A. Furey) and the Speaker (D. Bennett) extended best wishes to the Members and staff of the House for the holidays.

All present sang The Ode to Newfoundland.

On motion, the House adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.