The House met at 1:30 p.m.

ROUTINE PROCEEDINGS

Members' Statements

The following Members provided statements:

The Member for Placentia - St. Mary's (S. Gambin-Walsh) recognizing Catherine Linehan, her nursing career and the launch of her book: If I Cry, I'll Fill The Ocean.

The Member for Humber - Bay of Islands (E. Joyce) recognizing the late Hedley John Saunders of Greenspond, Bonavista Bay.

The Member for Mount Pearl - Southlands (P. Lane) recognizing the role and contributions of volunteers in the district and the province.

The Member for Conception Bay East - Bell Island (D. Brazil) recognizing the late Michael Laurie of the district.

The Member for Bonavista (C. Pardy) recognizing Dennis Goodland, Canadian Forces veteran and member of Confederation Building security detail.

Ministerial Statements

The following Ministers provided statements:

The Minister of Education (T. Osborne) recognizing the Newfoundland and Labrador High School Short Film Festival, grand-prize winner Alicia Mason-Quinton and the contributions of festival creators Allan Hawco and Paul Pope. The Members for Conception Bay South (B. Petten) and the Leader of the Third Party (J. Dinn) responded to the statement.

Oral Questions

The House proceeded to Oral Questions.

Presenting Reports by Standing and Select Committees

There were no reports by Standing or Select Committees presented.

Tabling of Documents

There were no documents tabled.

Notices of Motion

The Minister of Justice and Public Safety (J. Hogan) gave notice they would on tomorrow introduce a bill entitled:

"An Act to Amend the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, 2015" (Bill 59).

Pursuant to Standing Order 11(1), the Government House Leader (S. Crocker) gave notice they would on tomorrow move the House not adjourn at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, May 9.

Pursuant to Standing Order 11(1), the Government House Leader (S. Crocker) gave notice they would on tomorrow move the House not adjourn at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 10.

Answers to Questions for Which Notice Has Been Given

There were no answers to questions for which notice had been given.

Petitions

The following Members presented petitions:

The Member for Harbour Main (H. Conway Ottenheimer) regarding mental health and addictions supports for inmates of Her Majesty's Penitentiary.

The Member for Terra Nova (L. Parrott) regarding affordable housing and assisted living facilities for seniors in Labrador West.

Thursday, May 5, 2022

The Member for Torngat Mountains (L. Evans) regarding adequate health care supports in Postville.

The Member for Bonavista (C. Pardy) regarding use of Crown lands for Newfoundland Pony ventures.

The Government House Leader (S. Crocker) responded to the petition.

ORDERS OF THE DAY

The Speaker called orders of the day.

Pursuant to order and on motion, the following bills were read the third time and passed:

A bill, "An Act to Amend the Judicature Act" (Bill 53); and

A bill, "An Act to Amend the Provincial Court Act, 1991" (Bill 44).

Pursuant to notice and on motion, debate commenced and concluded on the motion standing in the name of the Government House Leader (S. Crocker) as follows:

WHEREAS subsection 6(3) of the *Independent Appointment Commission Act* provides that 5 members are to be appointed to an Independent Appointments Commission by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council on a resolution of the House of Assembly;

AND WHEREAS subsection 6(4) of the Act provides that the Lieutenant-Governor in Council designate one of the members of the commission to be chairperson;

AND WHEREAS subsection 7(1) of the Act states that a commissioner may be reappointed for one additional 3 year term to be served consecutively;

AND WHEREAS the terms of the following members have expired:

Earl Ludlow, Chairperson Cathy Duke

Thursday, May 5, 2022

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the following persons be reappointed members of the Independent Appointments Commission for a term of 3 years:

Earl Ludlow, Chairperson Cathy Duke.

The Speaker put the question and declared the resolution carried.

Pursuant to order and on motion, debate continued and concluded on the amendment to the budget motion (being a non-confidence motion).

The Speaker put the question.

The House divided.

AYES	NAYS
D. Brazil	A. Furey
B. Petten	S. Crocker
P. Dinn	L. Dempster
C. Pardy	J. Haggie
T. Wakeham	G. Byrne
C. Tibbs	T. Osborne
L. O'Driscoll	S. Coady
H. Conway Ottenheimer	P. Parsons
L. Parrott	S. Stoodley
P. Forsey	A. Parsons
J. Dwyer	J. Hogan
J. Dinn	B. Davis
J. Brown	D. Bragg
L. Evans	J. Abbott
	B. Warr
	E. Loveless
	P. Pike
_	S. Gambin-Walsh
	L. Stoyles
	P. Trimper

The Speaker declared the motion defeated.

Thursday, May 5, 2022

Point of Order

The Government House Leader (S. Crocker) raised a point of order regarding the interpretation of Standing Order 16(2) respecting ringing the bells to summon Members for a division.

The Speaker took the matter under advisement.

Debate continued on the budget motion and, on motion, was adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

On motion, the House adjourned until tomorrow, Monday, May 9 at 1:30 p.m.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.