

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: June 4, 2008

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 5:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Roger Fitzgerald, Speaker Mr. William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly Hon. Joan Burke, Government House Leader Mr. Kelvin Parsons, Opposition House Leader Ms. Beth Marshall, MHA (PC) Topsail Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP) Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Regrets:

Hon. Trevor Taylor, MHA (PC) The Straits - White Bay North Ms. Yvonne Jones, MHA (L) Cartwright - L'Anse Au Clair

Other:

Mr. Felix Collins, Acting Deputy Speaker Ms. Marie Keefe, Policy & Communications Officer

CM 2008 - 054

The Speaker reported authorizations for travel under extenuating circumstances as provided for in Section 43 of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act.*

The Speaker approved Ms. Yvonne Jones to charter an aircraft on March 7, 2008 and April 6, 2008 at a total cost of \$2188.25 to enable the Member to return to the Capital Region to attend the House of Assembly. The Speaker approved meals and accommodations for Ms. Patty Pottle on April 11 – 12, 2008, May 16 – 20, 2008 and on May 23-24, 2008 at a total cost of \$922.00. Ms. Pottle's flights were delayed on each of these dates due to adverse weather conditions.

CM 2008 - 055

The Commission, in an *in camera* session, confirmed the following decisions regarding Position Classification and Related Issues in the House of Assembly Service and Statutory Offices.

- a) The Commission confirmed the position classifications recommended by the Classification Review Committee for the 59 positions as listed in Appendix B of the May 21, 2008 submission titled "Position Classifications and Related Issues in the House of Assembly Service and Statutory Offices", with an effective date of April 1, 2008.
- b) The Commission confirmed the permanent incumbency, in the respective restructured/classified positions, of the 50 individuals listed in Appendix E, on file with the Clerk.
- c) The Commission confirmed the creation of a separate category called General HL, as listed in Appendix C of the May 21, 2008 submission titled "Position Classifications and Related Issues in the House of Assembly Service and Statutory Offices", with these positions subject to the same human resource policies and provisions as General Service positions and subject to the salary scales and steps as outlined in Appendix D of that submission.
- d) The Commission confirmed that the pay levels for each of the 59 position descriptions are to be in accordance with the HL salary scales as prescribed by the Executive Branch.
- e) The Commission adopted the Classification Appeal Process, dated June 2008 with the amendment that members of the Appeal Committee will excuse themselves when dealing with appeals for employees of their own office.

CM 2008 - 056

The Commission, in an *in camera* session, confirmed the permanent remuneration of the Chief Electoral Officer as EP- 06, point total of 2328, which started at Step 1 and will follow the normal step progression process.

CM 2008 - 057

The Commission directed that its solicitors take action to pursue payment of the costs as ordered by the court decision respecting Mr. Fraser March.

CM 2008 - 058

The Commission declined the request from the Leader of the New Democratic Party that the House of Assembly Service pay a legal bill for independent legal advice incurred in disputing a decision of the House of Assembly Service.

CM 2008 - 059

The Commission approved payment of a Per Diem of \$145 to a member who is a member of a Standing or Select Committee of the House of Assembly, the Commission or a committee of the commission, provided the member is not a minister or the holder of a position referred to in subsection 12 (1) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act* (the Act). The Chair of such committees was approved to receive a Per Diem of \$190. This is to be reflected in appropriate rule amendments.

CM 2008 - 060

The Commission approved the Tuition Reimbursement Program, dated May 11, 2008, for employees of the House of Assembly, Office of the Child and Youth Advocate, Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner, Office of the Citizens' Representative, Office of the Chief Electoral Officer and the Office of the Commissioner for Legislative Standards. The requirements of the program will be modified to provide tuition eligibility for contractual employees who have been employed by the Legislature for a minimum of two years.

Adjournment: 8:00 p.m. Hon. Roger Fitzgerald, MHA Speaker and Chair

Wm. MacKenzie Clerk and Secretary to the Commission