

## House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: February 24, 2015

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 9:05 a.m.

#### **Members Present:**

Mr. Wade Verge, MHA, Lewisporte, Speaker
Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly
Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP) Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi
Hon. Keith Hutchings, MHA (PC) Ferryland
Hon. Darin King, Government House Leader
Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA (L) Burgeo-LaPoile

Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA (L) Burgeo-LaPoi Mr. Dwight Ball, MHA (L) Humber Valley

### Regrets:

Mr. Kevin Pollard, MHA (PC) Baie Verte - Springdale

#### Other

Mr. Glen Littlejohn, MHA (PC), Port de Grave, Deputy Speaker

Ms. Marie Keefe, Policy & Communications Officer

CM 2015-001

The Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

meeting held on October 22, 2014 were approved as read.

CM 2015-002

The Commission approved the following transfer of funds:

From:

Subdivision 1.1.04.02 Members' Resources - Purchased Services

\$ 1,500

To:

Subdivision 1.1.07.10 Official Opposition Caucus – Grants and Subsidies

\$1,500

CM 2015-003

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved payment of expenses totaling \$26.28 for the Member for Conception Bay East – Bell Island but denied the payment of \$25.00 as there was no supporting documentation.

CM 2015-004

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$30.80 for the Member for Conception Bay East – Bell Island.

CM 2015-005

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$73.45 for the Member for Conception Bay East-Bell Island with the expenses to be paid within the appropriate allocation for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

CM 2015-006

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$224.87 for the Member for Harbour Main.

CM 2015-007

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$35.00 for the Member for Burgeo-La Poile.

CM 2015-008

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$452.86 for the Member for Port de Grave.

CM 2015-009

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$100.00 for the Member for the Straits-White Bay North.

CM 2015-010

The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved the payment of expenses totaling \$592.51 and \$143.00 for the Member for Trinity North.

CM 2015-011

The Commission directed House officials to draft amendments to the Caucus Operational Funding Grants Policy to reflect the recommendations of the Auditor General and the Audit Committee. The revised policy will be brought back to a future meeting for consideration and approval of the Commission.

CM 2015-012

Pursuant to subparagraph 20(6)(b)(ii) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Commission approved the strategy for the review of the MHA Pension Plan.

Adjournment: 9:50 a.m.

Wade Verge, MHA Speaker and Chair

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission