

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: March 5, 2015

Location: Official Opposition Caucus Room

Time: 1:00 p.m.

Members Present:

Mr. Wade Verge, MHA, Lewisporte, Speaker

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP) Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Hon. Keith Hutchings, MHA (PC) Ferryland

Hon. Darin King, Government House Leader

Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA (L) Burgeo-LaPoile

Mr. Dwight Ball, MHA (L) Humber Valley

Mr. Kevin Pollard, MHA (PC) Baie Verte - Springdale

Other

Mr. Glen Littlejohn, MHA (PC), Port de Grave, Deputy Speaker

Ms. Marie Keefe, Policy & Communications Officer

CM 2015-013 The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved the 2015 -2016

estimates for the Legislature to be forwarded to the Minister of Finance for

inclusion in the 2015 Estimates and voted on in the Legislature.

CM 2015-014 In order to give effect to budget decisions, the Commission, at an *in*

camera budget meeting, approved the assignment of the permanent employee in the sessional position control number PCN55556354 to

the full-time position control number PCN00002406.

CM 2015-015

In order to give effect to budget decisions, the Commission, at an *in camera* budget meeting, approved the abolition of the following permanent positions in the House of Assembly Service and Statutory Offices:

- 1. Secretary to the Speaker (PCN00000321), effective July 1, 2015
- 2. Permanent Sessional Parliamentary Trans-editor (PCN55556354)

CM 2015-016

In order to give effect to budget decisions, the Commission, at an *in camera* budget meeting, approved the creation of one permanent full-time Senior Investigator position for the Office of the Citizens' Representative.

CM 2015-017

In order to give effect to budget decisions, the Commission, at an *in camera* budget meeting, approved the creation of one permanent full-time Systemic Advocacy Consultant position for the Office of the Child and Youth Advocate.

Adjournment: 4:50 p.m.

Wade Verge, MHA Speaker and Chair

Sandra Barnes Clerk and Secretary to the Commission