

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: June 8, 2015

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 5:00 p.m.

Members Present:

Mr. Wade Verge, MHA, Lewisporte, Speaker

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP) Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Hon. Keith Hutchings, MHA (PC) Ferryland

Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA (L) Burgeo-LaPoile

Regrets:

Hon. Darin King, Government House Leader

Mr. Kevin Pollard, MHA (PC) Baie Verte - Springdale

Other

Mr. Glen Littlejohn, MHA (PC), Port de Grave, Deputy Speaker

Ms. Marie Keefe, Policy & Communications Officer

CM 2015-028

Pursuant to Section 64 of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, the Commission approved the following amendments to the Members' Resources and Allowances Rules, subject to final wording by the Office of the Legislative Counsel and approval of the House of Assembly.

- 1(1) Paragraph 2(d) of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules* is repealed and the following is substituted:
 - (d) "capital region" means the area encompassing the following electoral districts as described and delineated in the House of Assembly Act as follows:

- (i) Cape St. Francis
- (ii) Conception Bay South
- (iii) Ferryland (North of Witless Bay Line)
- (iv) Mount Pearl-Southlands
- (v) Mount Pearl North
- (vi) Mount Scio
- (vii) Portugal Cove-Bell Island
- (viii) St. John's Centre
- (ix) St. John's East-Quidi Vidi
- (x) St. John's West
- (xi) Topsail-Paradise
- (xii) Virginia Waters-Pleasantville
- (xiii) Waterford Valley; and
- (xiv) Windsor Lake
- (2) Subsection 33.1(3) of the Rules is repealed and the following is substituted:
 - (3) This section shall apply only to members who represent the districts of
 - (a) Ferryland (South of Witless Bay Line)
 - (b) Harbour Grace-Port de Grave
 - (c) Harbour Main
 - (d) Placentia-St. Mary's
 - (e) Placentia West-Bellevue; and
 - (f) Trinity-Bay de Verde
- (3) Subsection 37.1(2) of the Rules is repealed and the following is substituted:
 - (2) The districts to which subsection (1) applies are:
 - (a) BaieVerte-Green Bay
 - (b) Burgeo-La Poile
 - (c) Burin-Grand Bank
 - (d) Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair
 - (e) Corner Brook
 - (f) Exploits
 - (g) Fogo Island-Cape Freels
 - (h) Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune
 - (i) Grand Falls-Windsor-Buchans
 - (i) Gros Morne
 - (k) Humber- Bay of Islands
 - (l) Labrador West
 - (m) Lake Melville
 - (n) Lewisporte-Twillingate
 - (o) St. Barbe-L'Anse aux Meadows
 - (p) St. George's-Grand Lake
 - (q) Stephenville-Port au Port; and
 - (r) Torngat Mountains

(4) Schedule A of the Rules is repealed and the following is substituted:

Schedule A

House Operations Estimates of Intra-constituency Costs

District No.	Electoral District	Total
1	Baie Verte-Green Bay	\$12,600
2	Bonavista	11,200
3	Burgeo-La Poile	11,300
4	Burin-Grand Bank	12,700
5	Cape St. Francis	7,200
6	Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair	25,600
7	Conception Bay South	6,100
8	Corner Brook	6,000
9	Exploits	10,800
10	Ferryland	10,100
11	Fogo Island-Cape Freels	12,700
12	Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune	16,300
13	Gander	7,700
14	Grand Falls-Windsor-Buchans	9,100
15	Gros Morne	12,600
16	Harbour Grace-Port de Grave	7,700
17	Harbour Main	7,600
18	Humber-Bay of Islands	12,500
19	Labrador West	6,600
20	Lake Melville	8,000
21	Lewisporte-Twillingate	9,200
22	Mount Pearl North	6,000
23	Mount Pearl – Southlands	6,000
24	Mount Scio	6,000
25	Placentia-St. Mary's	11,500
26	Placentia West-Bellevue	13,800
27	Portugal Cove-Bell Island	7,700
28	St. Barbe-L'Anse aux Meadows	12,200
29	St. George's-Grand Lake	8,400
30	St. John's Centre	6,000
31	St. John's East-QuidiVidi	6,000
32	St. John's West	6,000
33	Stephenville-Port au Port	6,800
34	Terra Nova	12,700
35	Topsail-Paradise	6,000
36	Torngat Mountains	20,700
37	Trinity-Bay de Verde	8,600
38	Virginia Waters-Pleasantville	6,000
39	Waterford Valley	6,000

2. Section 1 shall come into force the day immediately following the general election which occurs immediately after the coming into force of this Act.

CM 2015-029

The Commission waived the two day waiting period for decision confirmation to assist in having the proposed amendments prepared for the current sitting of the House.

Adjournment: 5:25 p.m.

Wade Verge, MHA Speaker and Chair

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission