

### House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

### Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: May 26, 2015 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 6:00 p.m.

#### **Members Present:**

Mr. Wade Verge, MHA, Lewisporte, Speaker Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP) Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi Hon. Keith Hutchings, MHA (PC) Ferryland Hon. Darin King, Government House Leader Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA (L) Burgeo-LaPoile Mr. Kevin Pollard, MHA (PC) Baie Verte - Springdale

#### **Regrets:**

Mr. Dwight Ball, MHA (L) Humber Valley

#### Other

Mr. Glen Littlejohn, MHA (PC), Port de Grave, Deputy Speaker Ms. Marie Keefe, Policy & Communications Officer

CM 2015-025	The Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission
	meeting held on May 13, 2015 were approved as read.
CM 2015-026	Pursuant to Section 64 of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, the Commission approved in principle the following amendments to the Members' Resources and
	Allowances Rules, subject to determination of the allocations upon
	issuance of the final electoral boundaries report and final wording by

the Office of the Legislative Counsel and approval of the House of Assembly:

- 1(1) Paragraph 2(d) of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules* is repealed and the following is substituted:
  - (d) "capital region" means
    - (i) Cape St. Francis
    - (ii) Conception Bay South
    - (iii) Ferryland (North of Witless Bay Line)
    - (iv) Mount Pearl-Southlands
    - (v) Mount Pearl North
    - (vi) Mount Scio
    - (vii) Pippy Park
    - (viii) Portugal Cove-Bell Island
    - (ix) St. John's Centre
    - (x) St. John's East-Quidi Vidi
    - (xi) St. John's West
    - (xii) Topsail-Paradise
    - (xiii) Virginia Waters-Pleasantville, and
    - (xiv) Waterford Valley
- (2) Subsection 33.1(3) of the Rules is repealed and the following is substituted:
  - (3) This section shall apply only to members who represent the districts of
    - (a) Ferryland (South of Witless Bay Line)
    - (b) Harbour Grace-Port de Grave
    - (c) Harbour Main
    - (d) Placentia-St. Mary's
    - (e) Placentia West-Bellevue; and
    - (f) Trinity-Carbonear
- (3) Subsection 37.1(2) of the Rules is repealed and the following is substituted:
  - (2) The districts to which subsection (1) applies are:
    - (a) BaieVerte-Green Bay
    - (b) Burgeo-La Poile
    - (c) Burin-Grand Bank
    - (d) Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair
    - (e) Corner Brook
    - (f) Exploits
    - (g) Fogo-Cape Freels
    - (h) Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune
    - (i) Grand-FallsWindsor
    - (j) Gros Morne
    - (k) Humber North
    - (l) Humber South-St. George's

- (m) Labrador West
- (n) Lake Melville
- (o) Lewisporte-Twillingate
- (p) St. Barbe-White Bay
- (q) Stephenville-Port au Port; and
- (r) Torngat Mountains

# (4) Schedule A of the Rules is repealed and the following is substituted:

## Schedule A

## House Operations Estimates of Intra-constituency Costs

District No.	Electoral District	Total
1	Baie Verte-Green Bay	\$12,600
2	Bonavista	11,100
3	Burgeo-La Poile	12,000
4	Burin-Grand Bank	12,000
5	Cape St. Francis	7,200
6	Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair	25,600
7	Conception Bay South	6,100
8	Corner Brook	6,000
9	Exploits	11,500
10	Ferryland	10,100
11	Fogo-Cape Freels	12,600
12	Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune	16,300
13	Gander	7,700
14	Grand Falls-Windsor	6,000
15	Gros Morne	12,600
16	Harbour Grace-Port de Grave	7,700
17	Harbour Main	7,600
18	Humber North	9,600
19	Humber South-St. George's	7,700
20	Labrador West	6,600
21	Lake Melville	8,000
22	Lewisporte-Twillingate	9,200
23	Mount Pearl North	6,000
24	Mount Pearl – Southlands	6,000
25	Mount Scio	6,000
26	Pippy Park	6,000
27	Placentia-St. Mary's	12,200
28	Placentia West-Bellevue	13,800
29	Portugal Cove-Bell Island	7,700
30	St. Barbe-White Bay	11,800
31	St. John's Centre	6,000
32	St. John's East-Quidi Vidi	6,000
33	St. John's West	6,000
34	Stephenville-Port au Port	6,800
35	Terra Nova	13,400

36	Topsail-Paradise	6,000
37	Torngat Mountains	20,700
38	Trinity-Carbonear	8,600
39	Virginia Waters-Pleasantville	6,000
40	Waterford Valley	6,000
	Total	\$380,800

2. Section 1 shall come into force the day immediately following the general election which occurs immediately after the coming into force of this Act.

CM 2015-027

The Commission approved the following amendment to the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, subject to final wording by the Office of the Legislative Counsel and approval of the House of Assembly:

**3.** Subsection 16(1.1) of the *House of Assembly Accountability*, *Integrity and Administration Act* is repealed and the following is substituted:

(1.1) The members' compensation review committee first appointed under subsection (1) during the Forty-Eighth General Assembly shall be appointed not more than 6 months after the election of members to that General Assembly.

Adjournment: 6:24 p.m.

Wade Verge, MHA Speaker and Chair

Burnes

Sandra Barnes Clerk and Secretary to the Commission