

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: February 20, 2019

Location: HOA Committee Room

Time: 1:30 pm

Members Present:

Hon. Perry Trimper, Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Government House Leader Mr. Keith Hutchings, Opposition House Leader

Mr. Mark Browne, MHA (Lib) Placentia West-Bellevue

Hon. Siobhan Coady, MHA (Lib), St. John's West

Mr. Ches Crosbie, MHA (PC), Windsor Lake

Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP), St. John's East-Quidi Vidi

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Other

Mr. Brian Warr, MHA, Deputy Speaker

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

Ms. Kim HawleyGeorge, Law Clerk

Ms. Wanda Lee Mercer, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Bruce Chaulk, Chief Electoral Officer

CM 2019-003

The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, approved the 2019-2020 estimates for the following Activities, to be forwarded to the Minister of Finance for inclusion in the 2019 Estimates and voted on in the Legislature:

Office of the Auditor General - \$3,809,700

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer - \$7,479,400

Office of the Citizens' Representative - \$833,500

Office of the Child and Youth Advocate - \$1,398,900

Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner - \$1,337,200

Office of the Seniors' Advocate - \$500,000

Administrative Support - \$2,257,700

Legislative Library and Records Management - \$727,100

Hansard and Broadcast Centre - \$1,147,200

Members' Resources - \$8,915,100

House Operations - \$398,400

Government Members' Caucus - \$565,000 Official Opposition Caucus - \$1,084,200 Third Party Caucus - \$443,900

CM 2019-004

The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, approved a pre-commitment of funds of \$600,000 for fiscal year 2020-21 for the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer related to estimated subsidies for the 2019 general election.

CM 2019-005

The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, approved a pre-commitment of funds of \$32,400 (gross of \$60,400; related revenue of \$28,000) for fiscal year 2020-21 for the purpose of hosting the 2020 Canadian Association of Parliamentary Administration Conference.

Adjournment: 3:00 pm

Hon. Perry Trimper, MHA

Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission