

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: July 23, 2019

Location: HOA Committee Room

Time: 3:55 pm

Members Present:

Hon. Perry Trimper, Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Government House Leader

Mr. David Brazil, Opposition House Leader

Hon. Siobhan Coady, MHA (Lib), St. John's West

Ms. Alison Coffin, MHA (NDP), St. John's East-Quidi Vidi Mr. Elvis Loveless, MHA (Lib), Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune

Mr. Barry Petten, MHA (PC), Conception Bay South

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Other

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

Mr. Scott Reid, Deputy Speaker

CM 2019-010	he Commission, at an in-camera meeting, approved recommending to the Lieutenant	1
	Governor in Council that the new Information and Privacy Commissioner be	;
	ompensated at EP-10, Step 18, with regular step increases to apply.	

- **CM 2019-011** The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on February 20, 2019 were approved as read.
- CM 2019-012 The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on March 13, 2019 were approved as read.
- CM 2019-013 The Commission approved the following meeting dates for Fall 2019:
 - September 25, 2019
 - November 6, 2019
 - December 4, 2019

The financial reports for the Legislature for the periods April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019 were provided to the Commission for review. The Members' Accountability and Disclosure Reports were provided for the same period.

In accordance with the Transfer of Funds Policy, a report of budget transfers processed during the fiscal year 2018-2019 were provided to the Commission for review.

In accordance with the Caucus Operational Funding Grants Policy, expenditure reports for the periods from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019; and April 1, 2019 to April 17, 2019 (dissolution of 48th General Assembly) were provided to the Commission for the following:

- Office of the Speaker
- Government Members' Caucus
- Official Opposition Caucus
- Third Party Caucus
- Independent Members Joyce, Kirby and Lane

CM 2019-014 The Commission approved the following transfer of funds and waived the 2-day waiting period for Commission decisions:

From:

Subdivision 1.1.06.10 Government Members Caucus – Grants and Subsidies \$ 9.100

To:

Subdivision 1.1.07.10 Official Opposition Caucus – Grants and Subsidies Subdivision \$9,100

CM 2019-015 The Commission approved the following transfer of funds and waived the 2-day waiting period for Commission decisions:

From:

Subdivision 1.1.04.09 Members' Resources – Allowances and Assistance \$7,500

To:

Subdivision 1.1.04.02 Members' Resources – Transportation and Communications \$7,500

CM 2019-016 The Commission appointed Mr. Elvis Loveless and Ms. Alison Coffin as members of the Audit Committee, effective immediately.

CM 2019-017 The Commission appointed Mr. Elvis Loveless as Chair of the Audit Committee, effective immediately.

In accordance with the *Auditor General Act*, audited financial statements for the period from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019 were provided to the Commission.

CM 2019-018

Pursuant to Section 64 of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Commission approved the following proposed amendment to the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules*, subject to final wording by the Office of the Legislative Counsel:

Section 30 of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules* is amended by deleting the word "and" at the end of paragraph (f) and by adding immediately after that paragraph the following:

(f.1) to and from St. Pierre-et-Miquelon where the purpose of the trip is directly related to constituency business; and

Adjournment: 4:05 pm

Hon. Perry Trimper, MHA

Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission