

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: November 6, 2019

Location: HOA Committee Room

Time: 5:15 pm

Members Present:

Hon. Scott Reid, Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Government House Leader

Mr. David Brazil, Opposition House Leader

Ms. Alison Coffin, MHA (NDP), St. John's East-Quidi Vidi

Hon. John Haggie, MHA (Lib), Gander

Mr. Elvis Loveless, MHA (Lib), Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune

Mr. Barry Petten, MHA (PC), Conception Bay South

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Mr. Derek Bennett, MHA (Lib), Deputy Speaker

Other

Ms. Kim HawleyGeorge, Law Clerk

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, a decision made at an *in camera* session held prior to the regular meeting was reported into the public record as follows:

CM 2019-027

The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, approved the renewal of the lease for premises occupied by the Office of the Seniors' Advocate for a further term of 2 years under the same terms and conditions contained in the present lease dated October 26, 2017. The Commission also approved a pre-commitment of funds for fiscal years 2020-21 & 2021-22.

CM 2019-028

The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on September 25, 2019 were approved as read.

A report from the Clerk was presented to the Commission outlining approvals for expenditures on furniture and equipment as delegated under the Standard Office Allocation Package for Members and Constituency Assistants. An expenditure of \$489.00 was reported for Mr. Scott Reid, MHA for St. George's-Humber.

CM 2019-029

The Commission approved the following transfer of funds, and waived the 2-day waiting period for Commission decisions:

From:

Subdivision 3.1.01.01 - Office of the Chief Electoral Officer Salaries - \$300,000

To:

Subdivision 3.1.01.10 - Office of the Chief Electoral Officer - Grants and Subsidies - \$300,000

CM 2019-030

The Commission deferred a decision with respect to a policy on the reimbursement of legal fees for Members.

Adjournment: 6:20 p.m.

Hon. Scott Reid Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission