

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: July 15, 2020

Location: Via Videoconference (WebEx)

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Scott Reid, Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Government House Leader

Ms. Alison Coffin, MHA (NDP), St. John's East-Quidi Vidi

Hon. John Haggie, MHA (LIB), Gander

Mr. Elvis Loveless, MHA (LIB), Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune

Mr. Barry Petten, MHA (PC), Conception Bay South Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Mr. Derek Bennett, MHA (LIB), Deputy Speaker

Other

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

Regrets

Mr. David Brazil, Opposition House Leader

The Chair reported decisions from *in-camera* meetings held on December 4, 2019, December 18, 2019 and July 8, 2020. Details of the decisions were included with the draft Minutes for each meeting circulated to the Commission for approval as part of agenda item #1.

- CM 2020-011 The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on December 4, 2019 were approved as read.
- CM 2020-012 The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on December 18, 2019 were approved as read, with the revision to CM 2019-037 as discussed.
- CM 2020-013 The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on July 8, 2020 were approved as read.
- CM 2020-014 The Commission ratified the following transfer of funds approvals in accordance with Section 5 of the *House of Assembly Transfer of Funds Policy*:

- HOABT2020-023
- HOABT2020-026
- HOABT2020-027
- HOABT2020-030
- HOABT2020-034
- HOABT2021-IS001-IS

CM 2020-015 The Commission approved the following transfer of funds:

From:

Subdivision 1.1.04.09 Members' Resources – Allowances and Assistance \$2,300

To:

Subdivision 1.1.04.02 Members' Resources – Supplies \$2,300

CM 2020-016 The Commission approved payment of expenses totaling \$50.00 for the Member for Burin-Grand Bank with the expenses to be paid within the appropriate allocation for the 2020-21 fiscal year.

The Chair presented a report with respect to Rulings on Allowance Use in accordance with Section 24 of the *House of Assembly, Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act* for the period ended July 9, 2020.

The Chair presented a report with respect to Urgent Approvals Under Delegated Authority in accordance with CM 2008-095 for the period ended July 9, 2020.

The financial reports for the Legislature and Members' expenditure reports were provided to the Commission in accordance with Section 20 of the *House of Assembly, Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act* for the following periods:

- April 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019
- April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020

Adjournment: 9:30 a.m.

Hon. Scott Reid Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission