

## House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

**Date:** January 26, 2022

Location: via videoconference

Time: 9:30 a.m.

#### Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Hon. Steve Crocker, Government House Leader
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Helen Conway Ottenheimer, MHA (PC), Harbour Main
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Jim Dinn, MHA (NDP), St. John's Centre
Paul Pike, MHA (LIB), Burin - Grand Bank
Sandra Barnes, Clerk & Secretary to the Commission

#### Other

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Kim Hawley George, Law Clerk/Clerk Assistant (A) Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

## CM 2022-008

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved reimbursement of legal fees in accordance with the exception provisions of the <u>Guidelines on the Reimbursement of Legal Fees for Members of the House of Assembly</u> for the Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grave in the amount of \$15,260.50, and the former Member for Terra Nova in the amount of \$11,123.00.

## CM 2022-009

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved the following transfer of funds:

**To:** 1.1.04.02 Members' Resources – Professional Services \$22,900.00

**From:**1.1.05.02 House Operations – Transportation and Communications \$22,900.00

## CM 2022-010

The Commission approved the Minutes of meetings held on January 5 and January 12, 2022.

- CM 2022-011 The Commission directed, pursuant to subsection 43(2) of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, that the Auditor General of Newfoundland and Labrador be appointed to audit the accounts of the House of Assembly and the Statutory Offices for the fiscal year ended 31 March 2022.
- CM 2022-012 The Commission directed that funding for a third registered political party with one elected Member be allocated in accordance with funding provisions for a third registered political party with two or more Members.
- CM 2022-013 The Commission directed that funding for fourth and subsequent registered political parties with one elected Member be allocated in accordance with funding provisions for unaffiliated Members.
- CM 2022-014 The Commission approved the policy document (Caucus Funding Policy), collating caucus funding provisions established by the Commission.
- CM 2022-015 The Commission directed authority to House officials to update Section 9 of the Caucus Funding Policy as necessary in accordance with the established adjustment formula, without further reference to the Commission.

Adjournment: 10:24 a.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission