

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: May 12, 2021

Location: Conference Room A, West Block, Confederation Building

Time: 1:40 p.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Steve Crocker, Government House Leader Mr. Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader

Ms. Helen Conway Ottenheimer, MHA (PC), Harbour Main

Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair

Mr. Jim Dinn, MHA (NDP), St. John's Centre

Ms. Sherry Gambin-Walsh (LIB), Placentia - St. Mary's Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Other

Mr. Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

Ms. Kim Hawley George, Law Clerk/Clerk Assistant (Acting)

Mr. Bruce Chaulk, Chief Electoral Officer

CM 2021-004 The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, approved the 2021-2022 estimates for the following Activities to be forwarded to the Minister of Finance for inclusion in the 2021 Estimates and voted on in the Legislature:

- Administrative Support \$ 2,295,700
- Legislative Library and Records Management \$753,800
- Hansard and Broadcast Centre \$948,600
- Members' Resources \$9,074,000
- House Operations \$468,600
- Government Members' Caucus \$396,700
- Official Opposition Caucus \$1,258,600
- Third Party Caucus \$458,000
- Office of the Auditor General \$3,874,400
- Office of the Chief Electoral Officer \$2,856,300
- Office of the Citizens' Representative \$1,030,500

- Office of the Child and Youth Advocate \$1,445,400
- Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner -\$1,380,200
- Office of the Seniors' Advocate \$486,700
- CM 2021-005 The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved creation of the position of Committee Clerk in the Office of the Clerk.
- CM 2021-006 The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved a pre-commitment of funds for the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer for the fiscal year 2021-22 related to cost of leased office space.
- CM 2021-007 The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved a pre-commitment of funds for the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner for fiscal year 2022-23 related to hosting the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Information and Privacy Commissioners/Ombudspersons Annual Conference.

Adjournment: 5:00 p.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes,

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission