

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: May 26, 2021

Location: Via Videoconference

Time: 9:31 a.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Steve Crocker, Government House Leader

Mr. Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader

Ms. Helen Conway Ottenheimer, MHA (PC), Harbour Main Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair

Mr. Jim Dinn, MHA (NDP), St. John's Centre Mr. Paul Pike (LIB), Burin - Grand Bank

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Other

Mr. Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

Ms. Kim Hawley George, Law Clerk/Clerk Assistant (Acting)

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Chair reported decisions from *in camera* meetings held on January 5 and May 19, 2010. Details of decisions made at those meetings were included with the draft Minutes circulated to the Commission for approval as part of agenda item #1.

CM 2021-016 The Minutes of the Commission meetings held on December 23, 2020, January 5, 2021 and May 19, 2021 were approved as read.

The Speaker presented a report of Rulings on Allowance Use for the period ended May 21, 2021. In accordance with Section 24 of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Commission issued rulings to reimburse expenditures for the following Members that were not submitted within 60-days of being incurred as required under subsection 7(6) of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules* (the Rules); or were not submitted within 30 days of the end of the fiscal year as required under subsection 7(2) of the Rules:

- Ms. Lela Evans \$5211.44 & \$2301.23
- Mr. Craig Pardy \$1005.66 \$ 34.50
- Mr. Steve Crocker \$238.59
- Mr. David Brazil \$35.00

• Mr. Chris Tibbs \$172.50 & \$402.50

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, financial reports of the Legislature as well as actual expenditures of Members were presented to the Commission for the reporting period from April 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020.

CM 2021-017 The Commission ratified the following transfer of funds approvals in accordance with Section 5 of the <u>House of Assembly Transfer of Funds Policy</u>:

- HOABT2021-011
- HOABT2021-013
- HOABT2021-028
- CM 2021-018 The Commission appointed Mr. Paul Pike and Ms. Helen Conway Ottenheimer as members of the Audit Committee, effective immediately. The Commission further directed that Mr. Paul Pike be designated as Chair of the Audit Committee, effective immediately.
- CM 2021-019 The Commission directed an amendment to the <u>Guidelines for Providing Shared Secretarial Assistance</u> to allow parliamentary secretaries/assistants to be included for the purposes of allocating administrative support when the House is in Session.
- CM 2021-020 The Commission directed an amendment to the <u>Guidelines for Providing Shared</u>
 <u>Secretarial Assistance</u> to provide a general reference to sittings as follows:

"Shared secretarial assistance will be provided as a continuous employment period beginning one week prior to a sitting period of the House of Assembly and ending one week after the closing of that sitting period."

CM 2021-021 The Commission did not direct an amendment to subsection 38(2.1) of the Members' Resources and Allowances Rules, but directed officials to undertake a review of the implications of extending the monthly automobile allowance provisions to Humber - Bay of Islands and potentially other districts for future consideration of the Management Commission.

Adjournment: 10:29 a.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes (
Clerk and Secretary to the Commission