

## House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

## Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

**Date:** June 21, 2022

Location: HOA Committee Room/Phone

Time: 10 a.m.

## **Members Present:**

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Hon. Steve Crocker, Government House Leader
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Helen Conway Ottenheimer, MHA (PC), Harbour Main
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains (by phone)
Paul Pike, MHA (LIB), Burin - Grand Bank
Sandra Barnes, Clerk & Secretary to the Commission

## Other

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Kim Hawley George, Law Clerk/Clerk Assistant (A) Bobbi Russell, Policy and Communications Officer

The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, made a recommendation to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council regarding an acting appointment for the position of Chief Electoral Officer, pursuant to subsection 5.5(1) of the *Elections Act, 1991*. The Commission waived the 2-day waiting period for Commission decisions to expedite the recommendation to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

The Commission, at an *in-camera* meeting, made a recommendation to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council regarding an acting appointment for the position of Commissioner for Legislative Standards, pursuant to subsection 34(8) of the *House of Assembly Act*. The Commission waived the 2-day waiting period for Commission decisions to expedite the recommendation to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

Adjournment: 11:12 a.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission