

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: January 24, 2024

Location: HOA Committee Room

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Members Present:

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker (Chair)
Hon. John Hogan, Government House Leader
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Craig Pardy, MHA (PC), Bonavista
Kim Hawley George, Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)

Other

Bobbi Russell, Principal Clerk of Committees/Director of Policy

Regrets

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains Lucy Stoyles, MHA (LIB), Mount Pearl North

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Chair reported decisions from *in camera* meetings held on November 1, November 8 and November 30, 2023, and January 10, 2024. Details of decisions made at those meetings were included with the Minutes circulated to the Commission for approval and posted on the House of Assembly website.

CM 2024-002 The Commission approved the Minutes of meetings held on:

- November 1, 2023;
- November 8, 2023;
- November 30, 2023; and
- January 10, 2024.

The Speaker presented a report of rulings on allowance use, in accordance with Section 24 of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act. Since the last report, the Commission issued rulings to reimburse expenditures as follows:

 Placentia West - Bellevue 	Jeff Dwyer	\$300.00
 Harbour Grace - Port de Brave 	Pam Parsons	\$345.00
 Conception Bay East - Bell Island 	David Brazil	\$139.14/\$144.25
 St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows 	Krista Lynn Howell	\$4479.44

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, financial reports of the Legislature, as well as actual expenditures of Members, were presented to the Commission for the period from April 1, 2023 to September 30, 2023.

CM 2024-003 The Commission approved the following transfer of funds:

From:

Subdivision 3.1.01.02 Office of the Chief Electoral Officer – Transportation and Communications

\$400

To:

Subdivision 8.1.01.02 Office of the Commissioner for Legislative Standards – Transportation and Communications

\$400

Adjournment: 9:41 a.m.

Brian Warr

Deputy Speaker (Chair)

Kim Hawley George

Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)