

## House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: October 15, 2023 Location: Videoconference

Time: 7 p.m.

### Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Hon. John Hogan, Government House Leader
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Kim Hawley George, Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)

#### Other

Bobbi Russell, Principal Clerk of Committees/Director of Policy & Communications

### Regrets

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains Craig Pardy, MHA (PC), Bonavista Lucy Stoyles, MHA (LIB), Mount Pearl North

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, appointed Gerrie Smith as Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel in an acting capacity, effective October 23, 2023, until the previous incumbent returns or the position is permanently filled, for a period not to exceed 12 months; and confirmed the salary at Solicitor V, Step 9, as well as the payment of annual fees for the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Commission waived the 2-day waiting period for this decision.

Adjournment: 7:11 p.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Kim Hawley George

Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)