

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Government Services Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2022 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

May 2022



Contents

Contents	1
Committee Members	2
Fransmittal	3
Appendix A	4



Committee Members

Government Services Committee Members:

Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank (Chair)
Loyola O'Driscoll, Member for Ferryland (Vice-chair)
Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay
Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans
Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West
Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North
Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber

Appointed by motion April 4, 2022.

List of substitutions:

April 11, 2022

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, Member for St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North

Hon. Pam Parsons, Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grave substituted for Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay

Tony Wakeham, Member for Stephenville - Port au Port substituted for Loyola O'Driscoll, Member for Ferryland

May 5, 2022

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Member for Burgeo - La Poile substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber

Hon. John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi substituted for Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay

Barry Petten, Member for Conception Bay South substituted for Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans

May 6, 2022

James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre substituted for Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of April 7, 2022 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Government Services Committee met on three occasions: April 11, May 5 and 6, 2022.

The Government Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

Consolidated Fund Services; the Department of Finance; the Public Service Commission; the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure; the Public Procurement Agency; the Department of Digital Government and Service NL,

and recommend that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,
Paul Pike, MHA
Burin - Grand Bank
Chair



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

April 11, 2022

Public Service Commission:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West Minister (by videoconference) George Joyce, Chair/CEO

Tina Follett, Commissioner

Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller

Mike Smyth, Manager of Accountability and Certification

Keith White, Executive Assistant to Minister

Department of Finance and Consolidated Fund Services:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West, Minister (by videoconference)

Michelle Jewer, Deputy Minister (by videoconference)

Elizabeth Lane, Secretary to Treasury Board

Theresa Heffernan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Planning and Benefits

Administration

Doug Trask, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic, Fiscal and Statistics

Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller

Tom Nemec, Director of Treasury Management

Brad Sullivan, Manager of Pensions

Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

Keith White, Executive Assistant to Minister

May 5, 2022

Department of Transportation and Infrastructure:

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune, Minister

Cory Grandy, Deputy Minister

John Baker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Air and Marine Services



Stephen Burbridge, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations
Greg Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure
Dan Michielsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Corporate Services
Patrick Morrissey, Departmental Controller
Greg Butler, Budget Manager
Brian Scott, Director of Communications
Margot Pitcher, Executive Assistant to Minister

Public Procurement Agency:

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune, Minister Heather Tizzard, Chief Procurement Officer

May 6, 2022

Department of Digital Government and Service NL:

Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Member for Mount Scio, Minister
Sean Dutton, Deputy Minister
Gail Boland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Digital Government and Services
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller
Kathy Dicks-Peyton, Director of Communications
Angelica Hill, Executive Assistant to Minister