

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Government Services Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2023 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

May 2023

This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.



Contents

Contents	1
Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



Committee Members

Government Services Committee members:

Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank (Chair)
Loyola O'Driscoll, Member for Ferryland (Vice-Chair)
Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay
Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans
Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West
Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North
Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber

Appointed by motion April 4, 2022.

List of substitutions:

April 25, 2023

Sherry Gambin Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank) Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituted for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay)

April 26, 2023

Andrew Parsons, Burgeo - La Poile (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North) Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels (substituted for Scott Reid, St. George's – Humber)

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Harbour Main (substituted for Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland) Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West)

April 28, 2023

Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (substituted for Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans) David Brazil, Conception Bay East - Bell Island (substituted for Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland) Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels (substituted for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay for part of meeting)

Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituted for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay for part of meeting)

John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi (substituted for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber) Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West) Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituted for Brian Warr, Baie Verte -Green Bay for part of meeting)



May 2, 2023

Steve Crocker, Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (substituted for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay)

Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of March 23, 2023 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Government Services Committee met on four occasions on:

- April 26, 2023;
- April 27, 2023;
- April 28, 2023; and
- May 2, 2023.

The Government Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

- Consolidated Funds Services;
- Digital Government and Service Newfoundland and Labrador;
- Department of Finance;
- Department of Labrador Affairs;
- Public Procurement Agency;
- Public Service Commission; and
- Department of Transportation and Infrastructure.

Further, the Committee recommends that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Pike, MHA Burin - Grand Bank

Chair



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

April 25, 2023

Digital Government and Service Newfoundland and Labrador:

Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Minister
Sean Dutton, Deputy Minister
Gail Boland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Digital Government and Services
Scott Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Affairs
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller
Kathy Dicks-Peyton, Director of Communications
Devon Ryan, Executive Assistant

April 26, 2023

Department of Labrador Affairs:

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Minister
Tracy King, Deputy Minister
Sheree Snow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Medical Transportation Assistance Program
Michelle Watkins, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labrador Affairs
Wanda Trickett, Department Controller
Allison Corcoran, Manager of Finance
Allan Bock, Director of Communications
Nicole Kieley, Executive Assistant

April 28, 2023

Department of Finance and Consolidated Fund Services:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Minister
Julie Moore, Comptroller General
Michelle Jewer, Deputy Minister
Elizabeth Lane, Secretary to Treasury Board
David Drover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Planning & Benefits
Doug Trask, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economics & Statistics/Tax & Fiscal Policy
Tom Nemec, Director of Treasury Management
Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller
Jim Doody, Director, Human Resource Secretariat Service Centre
Diana Quinton, Director of Communications
Keith White, Executive Assistant



Public Service Commission:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Minister George Joyce, Chair & CEO Tina Follett, Commissioner Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller Mike Smyth, Manager of Accountability & Certification Diana Quinton, Director of Communications Keith White, Executive Assistant

May 2, 2023

Department of Transportation and Infrastructure:

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune, Minister Cory Grandy, Deputy Minister
Dan Mackenzie, Associate Deputy Minister
John Baker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Air and Marine Services
Greg Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure
Justin Garrett, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Corporate Services
Dan Michelsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Roads
Keith Maynard, Departmental Controller
Melony O'Neill, Director of Communications
Greg Butler, Budget Manager
Margot Pitcher, Executive Assistant

Public Procurement Agency:

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Minister Heather Tizzard, Chief Procurement Officer