

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Government Services Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2024 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

April 2024

This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.



Contents

Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



Committee Members

Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North (Chair)
Loyola O'Driscoll, Member for Ferryland (Vice-Chair)
Joedy Wall, Member for Cape St. Francis
Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville
Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's
Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber
Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains

Appointed by motion March 21, 2024

List of substitutions:

April 16, 2024

Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's)

Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West (substituted for Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains)

Tony Wakeham, Member for Stephenville - Port au Port (substituted for Loyola O'Driscoll, Member for Ferryland)

Bernard Davis, Member for Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

April 18, 2024

Steve Crocker, Member for Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Krista Lynn Howell, Member for St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's)

Lloyd Parrott, Member for Terra Nova (substituted for Joedy Wall, Member for Cape St. Francis)

April 19, 2024

Fred Hutton, Member for Conception Bay East - Bell Island (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville, for part of meeting)

Krista Lynn Howell, Member for St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

Tom Osborne, Member for Waterford Valley (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville, for part of meeting)



John Hogan, Member for Windsor Lake (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's)

April 26, 2024

Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's)
Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre (substituted for Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains)



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of March 21, 2024 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Government Services Committee met on four occasions:

- April 16, 2024;
- April 18, 2024;
- April 19, 2024; and
- April 26, 2024.

The Government Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

- Consolidated Fund Services:
- Digital Government and Service Newfoundland and Labrador;
- Department of Finance;
- Department of Labrador Affairs;
- Public Procurement Agency;
- · Public Service Commission; and
- Department of Transportation and Infrastructure.

Further, the Committee recommends that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Lucy Stoyles, MHA Mount Pearl North

Chair



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

April 16, 2024

Department of Finance/Consolidated Fund Services:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Minister
Michelle Jewer, Deputy Minister
David Drover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury Management and Budgeting
Doug Trask, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Planning and Benefits
Julia Moore, Comptroller General
Elizabeth Lane, Secretary to Treasury Board
Nichole Abbott, Departmental Coordinator
Tom Nemec, Director of Treasury Management
Jim Doody, Director of HRS Service Centre
Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

Public Service Commission:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Minister George Joyce, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Public Service Commission Tina Follett, Commissioner, Public Service Commission Nichole Abbott, Departmental Coordinator Mike Smyth, Manager of Accountability Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

April 18, 2024

Department of Labrador Affairs:

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Minister
Jason Higgins, Deputy Minister
Sheree Snow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Medical Transportation Assistance Program
Michelle Watkins, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labrador Affairs
Nicole Abbott, Departmental Controller
Trevor Miller, Manager of Finance
Allan Bock, Director of Communications
Kelly White, Executive Assistant



April 19, 2024

Digital Government and Service Newfoundland and Labrador:

Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Minister
Sean Dutton, Deputy Minister
Gail Boland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Digital Government and Services
Scott Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Affairs
Jennifer Torraville, Departmental Controller
Tina Newhook, Director of Communications
Kara Connors, Executive Assistant

April 26, 2024

Department of Transportation and Infrastructure:

Hon. John Abbott, Minister
Cory Grandy, Deputy Minister
John Baker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Air and Marine Services
Greg Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure
Justin Garrett, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Corporate Services
Keith Maynard, Departmental Comptroller
Mark Vardy, Manager of Budgeting
Bradley George, Executive Assistant

Public Procurement Agency:

Hon. John Abbott, Minister Heather Tizzard, Chief Procurement Officer