

## House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: July 12, 2023

Location: House of Assembly Committee Room

Time: 9:30 a.m.

### **Members Present:**

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Hon. John Hogan, Government House Leader
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (by videoconference)
Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains (by phone)
Lucy Stoyles, MHA (LIB), Mount Pearl North
Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission

### Other

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Kim Hawley George, Law Clerk /Clerk Assistant (A) Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer (public portion only)

### Regrets

Craig Pardy, MHA (PC), Bonavista

CM 2023-034 The Commission appointed the Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair as a member of the Audit Committee, effective immediately.

CM 2023-035 The Commission designated the Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair as Chair of the Audit Committee, effective immediately.

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved a restructuring proposal for the House of Assembly Service.

In order to give effect to the new organizational structure, the Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved:

- 1. Abolishment of the following positions:
  - a. Clerk Assistant/Clerk of Committees; and
  - b. Secretary to the Clerk of Committees.

- 2. Retitling of the following positions:
  - a. Director of Information Management to Principal Clerk of Proceedings and Procedural Research and Director of Information Management;
  - b. Policy and Communications Officer to Principal Clerk of Committees and Director of Policy and Communications;
  - c. Secretary to the Clerk to Administrative Officer;
  - d. Policy, Planning and Research Analyst to Policy and Communications Analyst;
  - e. Committee Clerk to Committee Analyst;
  - f. Law Clerk to Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.
- 3. Creation of the following position:
  - a. Committee Analyst.

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, directed the Clerk to bring forward a submission that addresses the changes required to the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act* to implement the new organizational structure for the House of Assembly Service.

Adjournment: 11 a.m.

Hon, Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission