

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Resource Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2022 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

May 2022



Contents

Contents	1
Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



Committee Members

Resource Committee Members:

Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay (Chair)
Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West (Vice-chair)
Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista
Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank
Pleaman Forsey, Member for Exploits
Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North
Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's

Appointed by motion June 1, 2021.

List of substitutions:

April 7, 2022

Lloyd Parrott, Member for Terra Nova substituted for Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista

Hon. Pam Parsons, Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grave substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's

April 12, 2022

Hon. Tom Osborne, Member for Waterford Valley substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's

May 3, 2022

Hon. John Hogan, Member for Windsor Lake substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia St. Mary's

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North

Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Member for Mount Scio substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin Grand Bank



Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains substituted for Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West

May 5, 2022

Hon. John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North

Hon. Tom Osborne, Member for Waterford Valley substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans substituted for Pleaman Forsey, Member for Exploits

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains substituted for Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West

May 9, 2022

Hon. John Haggie, Member for Gander substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's

Hon. John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi substituted for Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay

Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank (by videoconference)

Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans substituted for Pleaman Forsey, Member for Exploits

James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre substituted for Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of April 7, 2022 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Resource Committee met on five occasions: April 7 and 12 and May 3, 5 and 9, 2022.

The Resource Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

the Department of Industry, Energy and Technology; the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation; the Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture;

the Department of Environment and Climate Change; and

the Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills,

and recommend that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,
Jordan Brown, MHA Labrador West
,

Vice-chair



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

April 7, 2022

Department of Industry, Energy and Technology:

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Member for Burgeo - La Poile, Minister
John Cowan, Deputy Minister
Craig Martin, Associate Deputy Minister
Megan Nesbitt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Strategic Services
Jamie O'Dea, Assistant Deputy Minister, Business and Innovation
Gillian Skinner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry & Economic Development
Alex Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mineral Development
Pierre Tobin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy
Paul Carter, Executive Director, Mining
Tansy Mundon, Director of Communications
Philip Ivimey, Departmental Controller
Nicole Kieley, Executive Assistant to Minister

April 12, 2022

Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation:

Hon. Steve Crocker, Member for Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde, Minister Karen Stone, Deputy Minister

Ben Gardner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Film, Television and Recreation Carol-Ann Gilliard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Tourism (by videoconference)

Gerry Osmond, Assistant Deputy Minister, Arts and Culture

Tina Newhook, Director of Communications

Eilanda Anderson, Executive Assistant to Minister



May 3, 2022

Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture:

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Member for Fogo Island - Cape Freels, Minister Tracy King, Deputy Minister
Stephen Balsom, Assistant Deputy Minister, Forestry and Wildlife Lorelei Roberts, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture Philip Ivimey, Departmental Controller
Erin Shea, Director of Communications
Dana English, Executive Assistant to Minister

May 5, 2022

Department of Environment and Climate Change:

Hon. Bernard Davis, Member for Virginia Waters - Pleasantville, Minister Valerie Snow, Deputy Minister
Tara Kelly, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment
Dr. Susan Squires, Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change
Haseen Khan, Director, Water Resources Management Division
Robert Locke, Director, Pollution Prevention Division
Victoria Woodworth-Lynas, Director, Policy, Planning and Natural Areas
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller
Debbie Marnell, Director of Communications
Kara Connors, Executive Assistant to Minister

May 9, 2022

Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills:

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook, Minister
Patricia A. Hearn, Deputy Minister
Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Policy
Katie Norman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration and Population Growth
Heather Craniford, Director, Employment and Training Programs
Steve French, Departmental Controller



John Tompkins, Director of Communications Kerry Chaytor, Executive Assistant to Minister