

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Resource Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2023 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

May 2023

This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.



Contents

Contents	1
Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



Committee Members

Resource Committee members:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay (Chair)
Jordan Brown, Labrador West (Vice-Chair)
Craig Pardy, Bonavista
Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank
Pleaman Forsey, Exploits
Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North
Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's

Appointed by motion May 31, 2021

List of substitutions:

March 23, 2023

Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (substituted for Craig Pardy, Bonavista) Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's)

James Dinn, St. John's Centre (substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West) John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank)

April 3, 2023

Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (substituted for Pleaman Forsey, Exploits)
John Haggie, Gander (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia St. Mary's)
Krista Lynn Howell (St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows, substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)

James Dinn, St. John's Centre (substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West) John Hogan, K.C., Windsor Lake (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin Grand Bank)

April 4, 2023

Barry Petten, Conception Bay South (substituted for Craig Pardy, Bonavista)
Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank)
Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's)

April 25, 2023

Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank) Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio (substituted for Sherry Gambin Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's) Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue (substituted for Pleaman Forsey, Exploits)



May 8, 2023

Lisa Dempster, Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's)

Pam Parsons, Harbour Grace - Port de Grave (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)

Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank) James Dinn, St. John's Centre (substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West)



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of March 23, 2023 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Resource Committee met on five occasions on:

- March 23, 2023;
- April 3, 2023;
- April 4, 2023;
- April 25, 2023; and
- May 8, 2023.

The Resource Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

- Department of Environment and Climate Change;
- Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture;
- · Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills;
- Department of Industry, Energy and Technology; and
- Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation.

Further, the Committee recommends that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Warr, MHA Baie Verte - Green Bay Chair



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

March 23, 2023

Department of Environment and Climate Change:

Hon. Bernard Davis, Minister
Valerie Snow, Deputy Minister
Tara Kelly, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment
Yvonne Scott, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labour
Dr. Susan Squires, Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change
Haseen Khan, Director, Water Resources Management Division
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller
Debbie Marnell, Director of Communications

April 3, 2023

Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills:

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Minister
Karen Stone, K.C., Deputy Minister
Seamus Breen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Policy
Sharlene Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Employment and Labour Market Development
Katie Norman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration and Population Growth
Steve French, Departmental Controller
John Tompkins, Director of Communications
Kerry Chaytor, Executive Assistant

April 4, 2023

Department of Industry, Energy and Technology:

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Minister
John Cowan, Deputy Minister
Craig Martin, Associate Deputy Minister
Jason Higgins, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry & Economic Development
Julian Ludmer, Assistant Deputy Minister, Business and Innovation
Megan Nesbitt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Strategic Services
Alex Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mineral Development
Philip Ivimey, Departmental Controller
Nena Abundo, Executive Director, Oil & Gas
Paul Carter, Executive Director, Mining Innovation
Susan Wilkins, Executive Director, Renewable Energy
Tansy Mundon, Director of Communications
Michael King, Executive Assistant



April 25, 2023

Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation:

Hon. Steve Crocker, Minister
Jamie O'Dea, Deputy Minister
Ben Gardner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Film, Television and Recreation
Carol-Ann Gilliard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Tourism
Gerry Osmond, Assistant Deputy Minister, Arts and Culture
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller
Adrienne Luther, Director of Communication
Matt Worthman, Executive Assistant

May 8, 2023

Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture:

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Minister
Jamie Chippett, Deputy Minister
Stephen Balsom, Assistant Deputy Minister, Forestry and Wildlife
Keith Deering, Assistant Deputy Minister, Agriculture and Lands
Lorelei Roberts, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture
Philip Ivimey, Departmental Controller
Erin Shea, Director of Communications
Dana English, Executive Assistant