Member for Baie Verle : Streen Bay 2021-06-10



House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

# **Resources Committee**

# Consideration of Estimates 2021 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly
June 2021



This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.

#### Resources Committee Members:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay (Chair)
Craig Pardy, Bonavista
Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank
Pleaman Forsey, Exploits
Jordan Brown, Labrador West (Vice-chair)
Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North
Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's

Appointed by motion May 31, 2021.

List of substitutions:

# May 31, 2021

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank Hon. Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's

Hon. John Haggie, Gander substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

#### June 1, 2021

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's Lloyd Parrott, Terra Nova, substituted for Craig Pardy, Bonavista

### June 3, 2021

Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's James Dinn, St. John's Centre substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West

#### June 8, 2021

Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans substituted for Pleaman Forsey, Exploits

Hon. Pam Parsons, Harbour Grace - Port de Grave substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's

Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

James Dinn, St. John's Centre substituted for Jordan Brown, Labrador West



# June 9, 2021

Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans substituting for Pleaman Forsey, Exploits (for the following subheads: Labour, 4.1.01-4.1.03, and Labour Relations Board, 5.1.01)

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains substituting for Craig Pardy, Bonavista

Hon. Tom Osborne, Waterford Valley substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. John Hogan, Windsor Lake substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's



Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of May 31, 2021 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Resources Committee met on 5 occasions: May 31, June 1, 3, 8 and 9, 2021

The Resources Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

the Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture;

the Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills;

the Department of Industry, Energy and Technology;

the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation; and

the Department of Environment and Climate Change,

and recommend that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Warr, MHA

Baie Verte-Green Bay

Chair



# **Appendix**

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

May 31, 2021

# Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation:

Hon. Steve Crocker, Carbonear- Trinity-Bay de Verde
Jamie Chippett, Deputy Minister
Judith Hearn, Assistant Deputy Minister, Tourism and Culture
Debbie Marnell, Director of Communications
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller

# June 1, 2021

# Department of Industry, Energy and Technology:

Hon. Andrew Parsons, QC, Burgeo - La Poile
John Cowan, Deputy Minister
Phil Ivimey, Departmental Controller
Fiona Langor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Business and Innovation
Craig Martin, Associate Deputy Minister
Tansy Mundon, Director of Communications
Megan Nesbitt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate and Strategic Services
Gillian Skinner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry and Economic Development
Alex Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mining and Mineral Development
Pierre Tobin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy

# June 3, 2021

### Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture:

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels
Stephen Balsom, Assistant Deputy Minister, Forestry and Wildlife
Keith Deering, Assistant Deputy Minister, Agriculture and Lands
Kathy Dicks-Peyton, Director of Communications
Phil Ivimey, Departmental Controller
Tracy King, Deputy Minister
Chantelle MacDonald Newhook, Assistant Deputy Minister, Enforcement and Resource Services
Lorelei Roberts-Loder, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture



# June 8, 2021

# Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills:

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook
Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Policy
Steve French, Departmental Controller
Patricia Hearn, Deputy Minister
Walt Mavin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Employment and Labour Market Development
Katie Norman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration and Population Growth
Jeremy Reynolds, Executive Assistant
John Tompkins, Director of Communications

# June 9, 2021

# **Department of Environment and Climate Change:**

Hon. Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville
Sean Dutton, Deputy Minister (A)
Dan Michielsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environment
Susan Squires, Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change
Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller
Jacquelyn Howard, Director of Communications, Environment and Climate Change