Jabler by the Membe Jer Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) 2021-01-09



House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Social Services Committee

Consideration of Estimates, 2021

(Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly June 2021



This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.

Social Service Committee Members:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (Vice-chair) Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber James Dinn, St. John's Centre

Appointed by motion May 31, 2021.

List of substitutions:

June 1, 2021

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Burgeo - La Poile substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North Hon. Steve Crocker, Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde substituted for Scott Reid, St. Georges - Humber Hon. Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Harbour Main substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue

June 2, 2021

Hon. Pam Parsons, Harbour Grace - Port de Grave substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank Hon. Siobhan Coady, St. John's West substituted for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber Hon. Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

June 3, 2021

Barry Petten, Conception Bay South substituted for Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis Hon. Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank Hon. Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

June 7, 2021

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair substituted for Scott Reid, St. Georges - Humber Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North Hon. Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

June 8, 2021

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair substituted for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber Hon. Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank Paul Dinn, Topsail - Paradise substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue



Social Services Committee Report to the House of Assembly June 9, 2021

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of May 31, 2021, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Social Services Committee met on 5 occasions: June 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8, 2021.

The Social Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development; the Department of Education; the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs; the Department of Health and Community Services; the Department of Justice and Public Safety; and the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation,

and recommend that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Combin - Walsh

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, MHA Placentia – St. Mary's Chair



Appendix

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

June 1, 2021

Department of Justice and Public Safety:

Hon. John Hogan, Windsor Lake
Danielle Barron, Director of Communications
Chief Joe Boland, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Andrew Green, Departmental Controller
Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting
Tara Kelly, Assistant Deputy Minister – Public Safety and Emergency Services
Philip Osborne, Assistant Deputy Minister (A) – Legal Services
Jennifer Mercer, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General
Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister (A) – Corrections and Community Services
Lloyd Strickland, Director – Public Prosecutions
Joanne Turner, Director – Provincial Court Services
Donna Ballard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Corporate Services

June 2, 2021

Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development:

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi Cynthia King, Director of Income Support Policy and Programs Sharlene Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services & Performance Improvement Susan Walsh, Deputy Minister

Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation:

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi Doug Jackman, Director of Finance Julia Mullaley, CEO Melanie Thomas, Director of Policy, Housing and Homelessness Mike Tizzard, Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services

June 3, 2021

Department of Education:

Hon. Tom Osborne, Waterford Valley Eldred Barnes, Associate Deputy Minister Brad Clarke, Director, Programs and Services Candice Ennis-Williams, Assistant Deputy Minister, Post-Secondary Education Rob Feaver, Director, Student Financial Services Mary Goss-Prowse, Director, Early Learning and Child Development



Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Greg O'Leary, Deputy Minister Tracy Stamp, Departmental Controller

June 7, 2021

Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs:

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows Bren Hanlon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Affairs Jacqueline Howard, Director of Communications Ted Lomond, Deputy Minister Randy Simms, Executive Assistant Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller

June 8, 2021

Department of Health and Community Services:

Hon. John Haggie, Gander Chad Antle, Departmental Controller (A) Alan Doody, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services (A) Tina Follett, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy, Planning and Performance Monitoring John McGrath, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services (A) Andrea McKenna, Associate Deputy Minister Tina Newhook, Communications Director Karen Stone, Deputy Minister