

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Social Services Committee

# **Consideration of Estimates 2022**

# (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

May 2022

This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.



# Contents

Contents	1
Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



# **Committee Members**

Social Services Committee Members:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) Joedy Wall, Member for Cape St. Francis (Vice-chair) Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North Jeff Dwyer, Member for Placentia West - Bellevue Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre

Appointed by motion June 1, 2021.

List of substitutions:

#### April 8, 2022

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Member for Fogo Island - Cape Freels substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank Hon. Sarah Stoodley, Member for Mount Scio substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Member for Harbour Main substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Member for Placentia West - Bellevue Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains substituted for James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre

### April 12, 2022

Brian Warr, Member for Baie Verte - Green Bay substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Member for Fogo Island - Cape Freels substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. John Hogan, Member for Windsor Lake substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains substituted for James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre



# April 13, 2022

Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West (by videoconference) substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains substituted for James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre

# May 2, 2022

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. Steve Crocker, Member for Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (by

videoconference) substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's

Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Member for Placentia West - Bellevue

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre

# May 6, 2022

Hon. Bernard Davis, Member for Virginia Waters - Pleasantville substituted for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber

Barry Petten, Member for Conception Bay South substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Member for Placentia West - Bellevue

3



# Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of April 7, 2022 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Social Services Committee met on five occasions: April 8, 12, 13 and May 2 and 6, 2022.

The Social Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

the Department of Justice and Public Safety; the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs; the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development; the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation; the Department of Health and Community Services; and the Department of Education,

and recommend that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, MHA Placentia - St. Mary's Chair



# Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

## April 8, 2022

### Department of Justice and Public Safety:

Hon. John Hogan, Member for Windsor Lake, Minister & Attorney General Denis Mahoney, Deputy Minister & Deputy Attorney General Heather Jacobs, Special Advisor Gerrie Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety & Correctional Services Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal Services Dan Chafe, Superintendent of Prisons Susan Foss, Registrar, Supreme Court of NL Kim Harding, Executive Director, Support Services, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Lesley Clarke, Director of Communications Kellee Martin, Director of Policy and Strategic Planning Lloyd Strickland, Director of Public Prosecutions Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting Kerry Sears, Manager of Equipment, Training & Organizational Development, Office of the High Sheriff Sharleen Simmons, Strategic Policy Analyst, RCMP Andrew Green, Departmental Controller Emily-Jane Gillingham, Media Relations Manager Glenda Hearn-Ellis, Executive Assistant to Minister

### April 12, 2022

### **Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs:**

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, Member for St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows, Minister Ted Lomond, Deputy Minister Bren Hanlon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Affairs Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller

5



Jacqueline Howard, Director of Communications Randy Simms, Executive Assistant to Minister

#### April 13, 2022

#### Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development:

Hon. John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi, Minister Susan Walsh, Deputy Minister Brian Evans, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Performance Improvement Dave Martin, Departmental Controller, Finance and General Operations

#### Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation:

Hon. John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi, Minister
Julia Mullaley, Chief Executive Officer
Mike Tizzard, Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services
Joe Mercer, Executive Director, Regional Operations and Program Delivery
Melanie Thomas, Director, Policy, Planning and Homelessness
Doug Jackman, Director of Finance

#### May 2, 2022

#### **Department of Health and Community Services:**

Hon. John Haggie, Member for Gander, Minister
Andrea McKenna, Deputy Minister
Alan Doody, Associate Deputy Minister
Fiona Langor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs
John McGrath, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services (by videoconference)
Gillian Sweeney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Population Health and Wellness
Vanessa Mercer-Oldford, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services
Blair White, Assistant Deputy Minister, Digital Health
Chad Antle, Departmental Controller (by videoconference)



Melony O'Neill, Director of Communications Alicia Anderson, Executive Assistant to Minister

#### May 6, 2022

#### **Department of Education:**

Hon. Tom Osborne, Member for Waterford Valley, Minister Dr. Greg O'Leary, Deputy Minister Eldred Barnes, Associate Deputy Minister Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Scott Linehan, Assistant Deputy Minister, K-12 and Early Childhood Learning Brad Clarke, Director, Programs and Services Rob Feaver, Director, Student Financial Services Mary Goss-Prowse, Director, Early Learning and Child Development Regan Power, Director, Post-Secondary Tracy Stamp, Departmental Coordinator Marc Budgell, Director of Communications Tina Lamb, Executive Assistant to the Minister