

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Social Services Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2023 (Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

May 2023

This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.



Contents

Contents	1
Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



Committee Members

Social Services Committee members:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair)
Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (Vice-chair)
Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank
Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North
Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue
Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber
James Dinn, St. John's Centre

Appointed by motion May 31, 2021

List of substitutions:

April 4, 2023

Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin Grand Bank)
Paul Dinn, Topsail Paradise (substituted for Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis)
Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains (substituted for James Dinn, St. John's Centre)

April 5, 2023

Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista (substituted for Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis) Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West (Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank)

April 6, 2023

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Harbour Main (substituted for Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis) Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans (substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue)

Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio (substituted for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber) Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains (substituted for James Dinn, St. John's Centre) Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank)

May 1, 2023

Lisa Dempster, Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's)

Pam Parsons, Harbour Grace - Port de Grave (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)

Jordan Brown, Labrador West (substituted for James Dinn, St. John's Centre)



May 3, 2023

Barry Petten, Conception Bay South (substituted for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue) Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook (substituted for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank) Siobhan Coady, St. John's West (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of March 23, 2023 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Social Services Committee met on five occasions on:

- April 4, 2023;
- April 5, 2023;
- April 6, 2023;
- May 1, 2023; and
- May 3, 2023.

The Social Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

- Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development
- Department of Education;
- Department of Health and Community Services;
- Department of Justice and Public Safety;
- Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs; and
- Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation.

Further, the Committee recommends that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, MHA Placentia - St. Mary's

Chair



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

April 4, 2023

Department of Health and Community Services:

Hon. Tom Osborne, Minister
John McGrath, Associate Deputy Minister
Dr. Megan Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Recruitment and Retention
Jeannine Herritt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services
Fiona Langor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Insured Programs
Patrick Morrissey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services
Sheree Snow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Medical Transportation Assistance Program
Chad Antle, Departmental Controller
Melony O'Neill, Director of Communications
Susan Elliott, Executive Assistant

April 5, 2023

Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development:

Hon. John Abbott, Minister Alan Doody, Deputy Minister

Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation:

Hon. John Abbott, Minister
Julia Mullaley, Chief Executive Officer
Mike Tizzard, Executive Director, Financial and Corporate Services
Joe Mercer, Executive Director, Regional Operations and Program Delivery
Melanie Thomas, Director, Community Partnerships and Homelessness

April 6, 2023

Department of Justice and Public Safety:

Hon. John Hogan, K.C., Minister
Denis Mahoney, K.C., Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General
Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Services
Mike Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Corporate Services
Gerrie Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety and Correctional Services
Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal Services
Andrew Green, Departmental Controller
Kellee Martin, Director, Policy and Strategic Planning
Joanne Turner, Director, Provincial Court Services



Lisa Stead, K.C., Assistant Director of Public Prosecutions (A)
Pat Roche, Chief, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Kim Harding, Executive Director, Support Services, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Sharleen Simmons, Strategic Policy Analyst, Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Mark Vardy, Manager of Financial Operations, HMP
Shelley Organ, Chief Executive Officer, Supreme Court
Derek Peddle, High Sheriff, Office of the High Sheriff
Danielle Barron, Director of Communications
Lesley Clarke, Media Relations Manager
Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting
Glenda Hearn-Ellis, Executive Assistant

May 2, 2023

Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs:

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, Minister Judith Hearn, Deputy Minister Bren Hanlon, Assistant Deputy Minister Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller Jacquelyn Howard, Director of Communications Randy Simms, Executive Assistant

May 3, 2023

Department of Education:

Hon. John Haggie, Minister
Dr. Greg O'Leary, Deputy Minister
Lisa Baker-Worthman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Early Learning
Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services
Scott Linehan, Assistant Deputy Minister, K-12 Education
Tanya Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Post-Secondary
Tracy Stamp, Departmental Controller
Rob Feaver, Director, Student Financial Services
Nancy Hollett, Director of Communications
Angelica Hill, Executive Assistant