

House of Assembly Newfoundland & Labrador

Social Services Committee

Consideration of Estimates 2024

(Concurrence)

Report to the House of Assembly

April 2024

This report is privileged until tabled in the House of Assembly.



Contents

Committee Members	2
Transmittal	4
Appendix A	5



Committee Members

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans (Vice-Chair) Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre

Appointed by motion March 21, 2024

List of substitutions:

April 15, 2024

Andrew Parsons, Member for Burgeo - La Poile (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Lisa Dempster, Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North)

Pam Parsons, Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grace (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Member for Harbour Main (substituted for Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise)

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre)

April 18, 2024

Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista (substituted for Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans)

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Member for Harbour Main (substituted for Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail Paradise, subheads 3.1.01-3.1.02)

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre, subheads 4.1.01-4.1.03)

April 19, 2024

Steve Crocker, Member for Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's Humber)

Barry Petten, Member for Conception Bay South (substituted for Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans)

Pam Parsons, Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grave (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North)

2



Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre)

April 23, 2024

Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista (substituted for Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans)

Andrew Parsons, Member for Burgeo - La Poile (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Lisa Dempster, Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North)

April 25, 2024

Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West (substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre) John Hogan, Member for Windsor Lake (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

April 26, 2024

Joedy Wall, Member for Cape St. Francis (substituted for Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise)

Sarah Stoodley, Member for Mount Scio (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)



Transmittal

Speaker,

Pursuant to the motion of referral of March 21, 2024 and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Social Services Committee met on six occasions:

- April 15, 2024;
- April 18, 2024;
- April 19, 2024;
- April 23, 2024;
- April 25, 2024; and
- April 26, 2024.

The Social Services Committee have considered the matters to them referred and, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), have directed me to report that they have passed without amendment the estimates of:

- Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development;
- Department of Education;
- Department of Health and Community Services;
- Department of Justice and Public Safety;
- Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs; and
- Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation.

Further, the Committee recommends that the report be concurred in.

Respectfully submitted,

- Walsh

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, MHA Placentia - St. Mary's Chair

4



Appendix A

Witnesses (officials) who appeared at each meeting:

<u> April 15, 2024</u>

Department of Justice and Public Safety:

Hon. John Hogan, K.C., Minister Denis Mahoney, K.C., Deputy Minister Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Services Mike Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts & Corporate Services Lorelei Roberts, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety & Correctional Services Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal Services Neil Croke, Director, Infrastructure & Radio Communications Kellee Martin, Director, Policy & Planning Sharleen Simmons, Director, Policing & Public Safety Lisa Stead, Director, Public Prosecutions Patti Hurley, Departmental Controller Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting Jeremy Reynolds, Director of Communications Pat Roche, Chief of Police, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Andrew Green, Executive Director, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Shelley Organ, Chief Executive Officer, Supreme Court Dan Chafe, Superintendent of Prisons Derek Peddle, High Sheriff

<u> April 18, 2024</u>

Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development:

Hon. Paul Pike, Minister Alan Doody, Deputy Minister Tracy English, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Programs Brian Evans, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Performance Improvement Aisling Gogan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Prevention and Early Intervention Lori Rose, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Youth Services Gayle St. Croix, Director of Communications Margot Pitcher, Executive Assistant Dave Martin, Department Controller



April 19, 2024

Department of Health and Community Services:

Hon. Tom Osborne, Minister John McGrath, Deputy Minister Jeannine Herritt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services Fiona Langor, Assistant Deputy Minister Patrick Morrissey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Gillian Sweeney, Assistant Deputy Minister Chad Antle, Departmental Controller Brian Scott, Director of Communications Susan Elliott, Executive Assistant

April 23, 2024

Department of Education:

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, Minister Tracy King, Deputy Minister Lisa Baker-Worthman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Early Learning Terry Hall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education Operations Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Scott Linehan, Assistant Deputy Minister, K-12 Education Tanya Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Post-Secondary Education Tracy Stamp, Departmental Controller Angela Picco, Director of Communications Angelica Hill, Executive Assistant

April 25, 2024

Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs:

Hon. John Haggie, Minister Judith Hearn, Deputy Minister Stephen Mercer, Director, Municipal Finance Jennifer Torraville, Departmental Controller Michelle Hunt-Grouchy, Director of Communications Alicia Chenard, Executive Assistant to the Minister

April 26, 2024

Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation:

Hon. Fred Hutton, Minister Julia Mullaley, Chief Executive Officer Joe Mercer, Executive Director, Regional Operations and Engineering Mike Tizzard, Executive Director, Financial and Corporate Services Doug Jackman, Director, Finance Melanie Thomas, Director, Community Partnerships and Homelessness Marc Budgell, Director of Communications Dana English, Executive Assistant