## Wednesday, March 29<sup>th</sup>, 2006

The House met at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Gander (Mr. O'Brien) made a Statement to congratulate Mrs. Kathleen Hanrahan who celebrates her 100<sup>th</sup> birthday on March 29<sup>th</sup>.

The Member for Grand Falls - Buchans (Ms. Thistle) made a Statement to congratulate Lakeside Academy of Buchans which took first place ranking for the Newfoundland and Labrador schools with a B+ rating in absolute overall performance according to the fourth AIMS Report Card (RC4).

The Member for Lake Melville (Mr. Hickey) made a Statement to congratulate 10year old Phillip Nuna who despite having been born with Spina Bifida has learned to pursue the sport of cross country skiing.

The Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) made a Statement to congratulate the organizers and participants in the 2006 Run for the Janeway which raised \$97,310.27 for the hospital.

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Forsey) made a Statement to recognize World War II Veteran Mr. Frank (Jiggs) Borland, who participated in the Liberation of Dieppe. Mr. Borland who will celebrate his 81<sup>st</sup> birthday on March 31<sup>st</sup> will travel to Europe on April 27<sup>th</sup> to represent the Province at the celebration of the Liberation of Holland. Mr. Borland is a dedicated volunteer in the community.

The Member for Burgeo & LaPoile (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to congratulate Krista Elms, Lydia Francis, Holly Farrell and Erin Hickey of the College of the North Atlantic, Port aux Basques Campus who were first place winners of the College of the North Atlantic's Annual Business Case Competition.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Sullivan), pursuant to section 26(4) of the *Financial Administration Act*, tabled the following pre-commitments:

- (a) Order in Council 2006-143 authorized the Office of the Chief Information Officer to spend \$130,000 against its 2006-07 appropriations to facilitate the awarding of the contract to iMIRADOR Inc.;
- (b) Order in Council 2006-145 authorized the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation to spend \$280,000 against its 2007-08 and 2008-09 appropriations to support the province's contribution to the proposed Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership Memorandum of Understanding;

## Wednesday, March 29th, 2006

(c) Order in Council 2006-146 authorized the Department of Transportation and Works to spend \$2,840,000, \$2,930,000, \$3,020,000 and \$3,110,000 against its appropriations in fiscal years 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10 to facilitate the awarding of the four year contract for the Cartwright to Nain Freight Vessel Service.

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Ed Byrne) advised and by leave named the composition of the Standing Committees of the House as follows:

### STRIKING COMMITTEE

Hon. Ed Byrne - Member for Kilbride

Hon. Loyola Sullivan - Member for Ferryland

Mr. Roger Fitzgerald - Member for Bonavista South

Mr. Kelvin Parsons - Member for Burgeo & LaPoile

Mr. Percy Barrett - Member for Bellevue

### **PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE**

Mr. Eddie Joyce - Member for Bay of Islands

Mr. Shawn Skinner - Member for St. John's Centre

Mr. Ray Hunter - Member for Windsor - Springdale

Mr. Wally Young - Member for St. Barbe

Ms. Kathy Goudie - Member for Humber Valley

Mr. Percy Barrett - Member for Bellevue

Ms. Yvonne Jones - Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair

#### RESOURCE COMMITTEE

Mr. Harry Harding - Chair - Member for Bonavista North

Mr. Gerry Reid - Member for Twillingate & Fogo

Ms. Charlene Johnson - Member for Trinity-Bay de Verde

Mr. Ray Hunter - Member for Windsor-Springdale

Mr. Kevin O'Brien - Member for Gander

Ms. Judy Foote - Member for Grand Bank

Mr. Eddie Joyce - Member for Bay of Islands

## Wednesday, March 29th, 2006

#### **GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE**

- Mr. Shawn Skinner Chair Member for St. John's Centre
- Mr. George Sweeney Member for Carbonear-Harbour Grace
- Ms. Elizabeth Marshall Member for Topsail
- Mr. Paul Oram Member for Terra Nova
- Mr. Clayton Forsey Member for Exploits
- Mr. Wally Andersen Member for Torngat Mountains
- Mr. Oliver Langdon Member for Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune; and

### **SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE**

- Mr. Bob Ridgley Chair Member for St. John's North
- Mr. Roland Butler Member for Port de Grave
- Ms. Kathy Goudie Member for Humber Valley
- Mr. Terry French Member for Conception Bay South
- Mr. Felix Collins Member for Placentia & St. Mary's
- Mr. Kelvin Parsons Member for Burgeo & LaPoile
- Mr. Randy Collins Member for Labrador West

The Speaker concluded that the above noted motions were adopted by leave.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Grand Bank (Ms. Foote):

"WHEREAS FPI was established by this Legislature to strengthen the fishing industry in this province and to ensure maximum employment stability;

**AND WHEREAS** the provincial Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture admits that he is having trouble obtaining information on all FPI operations;

**AND WHEREAS** the provincial Minister has said that FPI broke the laws of this province in shipping out fish with no authorization;

AND WHEREAS the provincial Minister says charges will be laid against FPI;

**AND WHEREAS** there are widespread allegations and suspicions involving the overall operations of FPI;

# Wednesday, March 29<sup>th</sup>, 2006

**AND WHEREAS** the livelihood of thousands of people in this province are being thrown into turmoil as a result of the actions being taken by FPI;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that this House of Assembly calls on the Government to establish an independent public inquiry into the operations of FPI."

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Reid; Mr. Parsons; Mr. Butler; Mr. Barrett; Mr. Langdon; Ms. Thistle; Mr. Andersen; Mr. Sweeney; Ms. Foote; Mr. Joyce; Mr. Harris; Mr. Collins.

Against: Mr. Rideout; Ms. Dunderdale; Mr. Ottenheimer; Mr. Hedderson; Mr. Jack Byrne; Mr. Shelley; Mr. Fitzgerald; Ms. Sheila Osborne; Mr. Harding; Mr. O'Brien; Ms. Burke; Mr. Tom Osborne; Ms. Whalen; Mr. Jackman; Mr. Hickey; Mr. Wiseman; Mr. Denine; Mr. French; Mr. Young; Mr. Hunter; Mr. Skinner; Ms. Johnson; Ms. Elizabeth Marshall; Mr. Ridgley; Mr. Oram; Mr. Forsey; Mr. Felix Collins.

The Speaker declared the motion defeated.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Thursday, March 30<sup>th</sup> at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

A. John Noel, Q.C., Clerk of the House of Assembly.