Thursday, April 26th, 2007

The House met at 2 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) moved "That This House Approves in General the Budgetary Policy of the Government." In making the motion the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board delivered the Budget Speech.

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board that debate on the Budget Speech be adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) informed the House that he had received a Message from His Honour the Lieutenant Governor. The Message was read to the House by the Speaker as follows:

"26 April, 2007

As the Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, I transmit Estimates of sums required for the Public Service of the Province for the year ending 31 March, 2008, in the aggregate of \$4,981,360,800 and in accordance with the provisions of sections 54 and 90 of the *Constitution Act*, 1867, I recommend these Estimates to the House of Assembly.

Sgd. **Edward Roberts,** Lieutenant Governor".

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) that the Message together with the Estimates, be referred to a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

Thursday, April 26th, 2007

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

Pursuant to order and on motion the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker left the Chair.

Mr. Fitzgerald took the Chair of Committee of the Whole.

The budgetary documents were distributed.

On motion the Committee rose.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Chairperson of the Committee reported that the Committee had considered the matters to them referred, had made some progress and asked leave to sit again.

On motion the report of the Committee was received and adopted and it was ordered that the Committee have leave to sit again on tomorrow.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following Bills:

A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Income Tax Act, 2000" (Bill No. 3);

A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Retail Sales Tax Act And The Tax Agreement Act" (Bill No. 4).

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr.Rideout) gave notice and moved:

(a) That the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Government Services Committee**:

Finance
Public Service Commission
Government Services
Transportation & Works and Labrador Affairs
Intergovernmental Affairs

Thursday, April 26th, 2007

(b) That the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Resource Committee**:

Business

Environment and Conservation Fisheries, Aquaculture and Aboriginal Affairs Innovation, Trade and Rural Development Natural Resources Tourism, Culture and Recreation; and

(c) That the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Social Services Committee**:

Education
Health and Community Services
Justice
Municipal Affairs
Human Resources, Labour and Employment and
The Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation

By leave, the Speaker put the question on the motion and declared the motion carried.

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Rideout) advised the House, pursuant to Standing Order 68, that the composition of the Government Services, Resource and Social Services Committees would be as follows:

GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Paul Oram – Member for Terra Nova

Mr. George Sweeney – Member for Carbonear-Harbour Grace

Mr. Oliver Langdon – Member for Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune

Mr. Wally Andersen – Member for Torngat Mountains

Ms. Elizabeth Marshall - Member for Topsail

Mr. Clayton Forsey – Member for Exploits

Mr. John Dinn – Member for Kilbride:

Thursday, April 26th, 2007

RESOURCE COMMITTEE

Mr. Harry Harding – Member for Bonavista North

Ms. Judy Foote – Member for Grand Bank

Mr. Eddie Joyce – Member for Bay of Islands

Ms. Yvonne Jones – Member for Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair

Ms. Charlene Johnson – Member for Trinity-Bay de Verde

Mr. Ray Hunter – Member for Windsor-Springdale

Mr. Jim Baker - Member for Labrador West

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Bob Ridgley – Member for St. John's North

Mr. Roland Butler - Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Terry French – Member for Conception Bay South

Mr. Felix Collins – Member for Placentia & St. Mary's

Ms. Lorraine Michael – Member for Signal Hill-Quidi Vidi

Mr. Tony Cornect – Member for Port au Port

Mr. Dwight Ball – Member for Humber Valley.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Monday, April $30^{\rm th}$ at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie,

Clerk of the House of Assembly.