Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007

The House met at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Windsor-Springdale (Mr. Hunter) made a Statement to congratulate Patrick Edison of Springdale the winner of the 2007 Kiwanis Music Festival.

The Member for Grand Falls-Buchans (Ms. Thistle) made a Statement to congratulate the Committee Against Violence in Central Newfoundland which recently celebrated 15 years of service.

The Member for Trinity-Bay de Verde (Ms. Johnson) made a Statement to commend Delilah Bown, Audrey Jones, Fran Pelley, Gertie Pelley and Joyce Smith of Hant's Harbour, Trinity Bay for their recycling efforts.

The Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) made a Statement to congratulate the participants and organizers of the sixth Annual Run For The Janeway.

The Member for Terra Nova (Mr. Oram) made a Statement to pay tribute to Ms. Viola Diamond who was recently honoured at the Annual Glovertown Volunteer Fire Department's Firemen's Ball.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Mr. Andersen) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Rose Gregoire.

The Honourable the Minister of Business (Mr. O'Brien) made a Statement to recognize the work of the Newfoundland and Labrador Organization of Women Entrepreneurs, NLOWE.

At approximately 2:26 o'clock in the afternoon the fire alarm sounded whereupon the Speaker suspended proceedings and advised Members and staff to leave the Chamber.

The Speaker resumed the Chair at 2:51 o'clock in the afternoon. It was agreed that notwithstanding Standing Order 63(7) Routine Proceedings should continue until concluded.

The Opposition House Leader (Mr. Parsons) raised a point of order respecting certain comments made by the Honourable the Minister of Innovation, Trade and Rural Development (Mr. Taylor) on May 1st. The Speaker took the matter under advisement.

Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Terra Nova (Mr.Oram):

"WHEREAS this Government is committed to providing the necessary resources to ensure a proper education for students in rural and urban Newfoundland and Labrador;

AND WHEREAS for the first time in our Province's history, Government's investment in education will exceed one billion dollars;

AND WHEREAS education is the key to accessing opportunity and self-reliance;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that all Members of the House of Assembly support and endorse initiatives brought forward by this Government for the betterment of our children and their education."

The Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) moved, seconded by the Member for Grand Falls-Buchans (Ms. Thistle) the following amendment to the Resolution:

"That the motion be amended by adding at the end of the motion the following words:

"While also calling on Government to go further to address items such as special needs students, curriculum problems, large class sizes and the need for a comprehensive review of school repairs."

The Speaker suspended proceedings to consider the amendment.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Speaker ruled the amendment in order.

Debate commenced and concluded on the amendment to the Resolution

The Speaker put the question on the amendment to the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Parsons, Mr. Butler, Mr. Barrett, Mr. Langdon, Ms. Thistle, Mr. Andersen, Mr. Sweeney, Mr. Ball, Mr. Joyce, Ms. Michael.

Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007

Against: Mr. Rideout, Mr. Ottenheimer, Mr. Taylor, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Wiseman, Mr. Fitzgerald, Ms. Sheila Osborne, Mr. Harding, Mr. Oram, Mr. Skinner, Ms. Whalen, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Hickey, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. French, Mr. Denine, Mr. Young,

Mr. Hunter, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Baker, Mr. Ridgley, Ms. Elizabeth Marshall, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Cornect.

The Speaker declared the amendment to the Resolution defeated.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Rideout, Mr. Ottenheimer, Mr. Taylor, Mr. Tom Osborne, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Tom Marshall, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Wiseman, Mr. Fitzgerald, Ms. Sheila Osborne, Mr. Harding, Mr. Oram, Mr. Skinner, Ms. Whalen, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Hickey, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. French, Mr. Denine, Mr. Young, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Baker, Mr. Ridgley, Ms. Elizabeth Marshall, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Cornect, Mr. Parsons, Mr. Butler, Mr. Barrett, Mr. Langdon, Ms. Thistle, Mr. Andersen, Mr. Sweeney, Mr. Ball, Mr. Joyce, Ms. Michael.

The Speaker declared the motion carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Thursday, May 3rd at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly.