The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Port au Port (Mr. Cornect) made a Statement to congratulate Nancy Caines, Katarina Roxon and Krisite-Lee Leblond who were honoured at the annual Premier's Athletic Awards Ceremony on May 9<sup>th</sup> for their achievements as elite athletes.

The Member for Grand Bank (Ms. Foote) made a Statement to congratulate Chief Petty Officer Jennifer Drake of Lawn who has been selected "Chief of the Camp" this year for HMCS Acadia, the largest Cadet Summer Training Center in Canada.

The Member for Windsor-Springdale (Mr. Hunter) made a Statement to congratulate Stephanie Barker of Springdale for being named Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year at Mount Allison University of New Brunswick.

The Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) made a Statement to inform the House that he had nominated Mrs. Enid E. Barrett of Bishops Cove for the Governor General's Caring Canadian Award.

The Member for Placentia & St. Mary's (Mr. Collins) made a Statement to recognize the Father Val Power Centre of Riverhead, St. Mary's Bay for its development of a 16-week health and wellness program for the residents of St. Mary's Bay.

The Member for Grand Falls-Buchans (Ms. Thistle) made a Statement to congratulate William and Mary Hatt who were named Family of the Year by the Knights of Columbus Notre Dame Council and Mr. Jim McCarthy who was recognized for his contribution to the organization.

The Honourable the Minister of Business (Mr. O'Brien) made a Statement to congratulate G.J. Cahill Limited and Coleman's Food Services which have been designated among Canada's top 50 best managed companies.

The Honourable the Minister of Education (Ms. Burke) made a Statement to congratulate the ACE Memorial team which has won the 2007 Students in Free Enterprise national championships.

Pursuant to order and on motion the following Bills were introduced and read a first time:

A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Liquor Control Act" (Bill No. 14);

1992" (Bill No. 19);  A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Student Financial Assistance Act". (Bill No. 13);  A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Pension Benefits Act, 1997" (Bill No. 15);  A Bill, "An Act Respecting Trust And Loan Corporations" (Bill No. 17);	A Bill,	"An Act To Amend The Public Service Pensions Act, 1991, The Teachers' Pensions Act And The Uniformed Services Pensions Act, 1991" (Bill No. 16);
13); A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Pension Benefits Act, 1997" (Bill No. 15); A Bill, "An Act Respecting Trust And Loan Corporations" (Bill No. 17); A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Private Investigation And Security Services	A Bill,	"An Act To Amend The Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Act, 1992" (Bill No. 19);
A Bill, "An Act Respecting Trust And Loan Corporations" (Bill No. 17);  A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Private Investigation And Security Services	A Bill,	"An Act To Amend The Student Financial Assistance Act". (Bill No. 13);
A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Private Investigation And Security Services	A Bill,	"An Act To Amend The Pension Benefits Act, 1997" (Bill No. 15);
	A Bill,	"An Act Respecting Trust And Loan Corporations" (Bill No. 17);
	A Bill,	"An Act To Amend The Private Investigation And Security Services Act" (Bill No. 18).

On motion it was ordered that the said Bills be read a second time on tomorrow.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. French):

**"WHEREAS** this Government is committed to protecting the resources and the future of Newfoundland and Labrador:

**AND WHEREAS** our Province has been betrayed by the Prime Minister and the Government of Canada;

**AND WHEREAS** this breach of trust will result in our Province and our people being seriously disadvantaged;

**AND WHEREAS** the Province's non-renewable resource revenues represent a meaningful and long-term opportunity for our province to attain true self-reliance and economic prosperity;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that all members of this Honourable House support the Premier and this Government in calling upon the Government of Canada to honour its commitment respecting the removal of non-renewable resource revenues from the equalization formula."

During the debate, the Member for Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Jones) moved, seconded by the Member for Twillingate-Fogo (Mr. Reid) the following amendment to the Resolution:

"That the motion be amended by deleting the full stop and adding the following:

"and in the interest of openness and accountability also calls upon the Premier to release this Province's analysis of the proposed equalization formulas."

The Speaker (Mr. Fitzgerald) suspended the proceedings at 3:37 o'clock in the afternoon to consider the amendment.

The Speaker resumed the Chair at 3:38 o'clock in the afternoon and ruled the amendment in order.

Debate continued and concluded on the Resolution and the amendment to the Resolution.

The Speaker put the question on the amendment.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Parsons, Mr. Butler, Ms. Jones, Ms. Thistle, Mr. Andersen, Ms. Foote, Mr. Joyce, Ms. Michael.

Against: Mr. Rideout, Mr. Ottenheimer, Ms. Dunderdale, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Tom Marshall, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Wiseman, Ms. Sheila Osborne, Mr. Harding, Mr. Oram, Ms. Burke, Mr. Skinner, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Hickey, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. French, Mr. Young, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Baker, Ms. Johnson, Mr. Ridgley, Ms. Elizabeth Marshall, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Collins, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Cornect.

The Speaker declared the motion defeated.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Rideout, Mr. Ottenheimer, Ms. Dunderdale, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Tom Marshall, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Wiseman, Ms. Sheila

Osborne, Mr. Harding, Mr. Oram, Ms. Burke, Mr. Skinner, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Hickey, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. French, Mr. Young, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Baker, Ms. Johnson, Mr. Ridgley, Ms. Elizabeth Marshall, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Collins, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Cornect, Mr. Parsons, Mr. Butler, Mr. Barrett, Ms. Jones, Ms. Thistle, Mr. Andersen, Ms. Foote, Mr. Joyce, Ms. Michael.

The Speaker declared the Resolution carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Thursday, May 17<sup>th</sup> at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly.