Tuesday, April 29th, 2008

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) moved "That This House Approves in General the Budgetary Policy of the Government" and delivered the Budget Speech.

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board that debate on the Budget Speech be adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) informed the House that he had received a Message from His Honour the Lieutenant Governor. The Message was read to the House by the Speaker as follows:

"29 April, 2008

As Administrator of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, I transmit Estimates of sums required for the Public Service of the Province for the year ending 31 March, 2009, in the aggregate of \$5,933,907,200 and in accordance with the provisions of sections 54 and 90 of the *Constitution Act, 1867*, I recommend these Estimates to the House of Assembly.

Sgd. **Clyde K. Wells**, Administrator".

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) that the Message together with the Estimates, be referred to a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

Tuesday, April 29th, 2008

Pursuant to order and on motion the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker left the Chair.

Mr. Osborne took the Chair of Committee of the Whole.

The budgetary documents were distributed.

On motion the Committee rose.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Chairperson of the Committee reported that the Committee had considered the matters to them referred and had directed him to report that they had made some progress and asked leave to sit again.

On motion the report of the Committee was received and adopted and it was ordered that the Committee have leave to sit again on tomorrow.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following Bills:

A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Income Tax Act, 2000" (Bill No. 26);

A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Health And Post-Secondary Education Tax Act" (Bill No. 27);

A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Retail Sales Tax Act And The Tax Agreement Act" (Bill No.28).

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr.Rideout) moved, by leave, pursuant to Standing Order 65(1) (a), (b) and (c) that the composition of the Government Services, Resource and Social Services Committees be as follows:

GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Terry French – Member for Conception Bay South

Ms. Yvonne Jones – Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair

Ms. Elizabeth Marshall – Member for Topsail

Ms. Lorraine Michael – Member for Signal Hill – Quidi Vidi

Mr. Kelvin Parsons - Member for Burgeo - LaPoile

Tuesday, April 29th, 2008

Mr. John Dinn - Member for Kilbride

Mr. Roland Butler – Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Clayton Forsey – Member for Exploits

Mr. Ed Buckingham – Member for St. John's East

RESOURCE COMMITTEE

Mr. Harry Harding – Member for Bonavista North

Mr. Kelvin Parsons – Member for Burgeo – LaPoile

Mr. Ray Hunter - Member for Grand Falls - Windsor - Green Bay South

Ms. Yvonne Jones – Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair

Ms. Lorraine Michael – Member for Signal Hill – Quidi Vidi

Mr. Derrick Dalley – Member for The Isles of Notre Dame

Mr. Roland Butler - Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Jim Baker - Member for Labrador West

Mr. Wade Verge – Member for Lewisporte

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Keith Hutchings – Member for Ferryland

Mr. Roland Butler – Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Darin King – Member for Grand Bank

Ms. Yvonne Jones – Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair

Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Mr. Kelvin Parsons – Member for Burgeo – LaPoile

Mr. Felix Collins – Member for Placentia – St. Mary's

Mr. Tony Cornect – Member for Port au Port

Ms. Susan Sullivan – Member for Grand Falls – Windsor – Buchans.

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Rideout) further moved, by leave, pursuant to Standing Order 74 (1), that

(a) The following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Government Services Committee**:

Finance
Public Service Commission
Government Services
Transportation and Works
Intergovernmental Affairs
Labrador Affairs
Aboriginal Affairs;

Tuesday, April 29th, 2008

(b) The following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Resource Committee**:

Business
Environment and Conservation
Fisheries and Aquaculture
Innovation, Trade and Rural Development
Natural Resources
Tourism, Culture and Recreation

(c) The following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Social Services Committee**:

Education
Health and Community Services
Justice
Municipal Affairs
Human Resources, Labour and Employment and
The Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation

The Speaker put the question on the motions and declared the motions carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Wednesday, April 30^{th} at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly.