The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Burgeo – LaPoile (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to congratulate the DuCats, recipients of the 2008 Stompin' Tom Award at the East Coast Music Association awards ceremony.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) made a Statement to congratulate the Frosty Festival organizing committee and the City of Mount Pearl on the success of the 26th Annual Frosty Festival in February.

The Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) made a Statement to recognize Upper Island Cove native Craig Sharpe who has won the Ovation Star Search contest.

The Member for Kilbride (Mr. Dinn) made a Statement to congratulate the Grade 5 pupils of Hazelwood Elementary School who won a Grade 5 Invitational Basketball Tournament recently.

The Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Jones) made a Statement to congratulate Claude Normore who was honoured recently by the Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary with a 25 Year Service Award.

The Member for Topsail (Ms. Marshall) made a Statement to congratulate the pupils of Ms. Florence Power's Grade 1 class at Holy Family School in Paradise whose book "Winter Alphabet" was one of nine finalists out of 202 entries in the "Kids Are Authors" competition sponsored by Scholastic Canada.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) made a Statement to inform the House that the Office of the Comptroller General, Department of Finance, has been accredited as a Chartered Accountant training office.

The Honourable the Minister of Government Services (Mr. O'Brien) made a Statement to congratulate the Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union on the occasion of their 50th anniversary.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Kilbride (Mr. Dinn):

"WHEREAS many graduate students in this Province, and in the whole country, are currently experiencing severe financial difficulty because of high student loan debt;

AND WHEREAS many of these graduates had no other alternative but to accumulate debt in order to fund their education:

AND WHEREAS many of these graduates will have their lives put on hold while they pay off this debt;

AND WHEREAS this Provincial Government in its 2007 budget reduced the interest rate on the provincial portion of student loans to prime and offered needs-based grants and held the line on tuition;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this House of Assembly call upon the Federal Government to also reduce the interest rate on its portion of student loans to prime;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this House of Assembly ask the other Provinces and Territories to support this action by passing a similar motion in their respective legislatures."

The Member for Kilbride (Mr. Dinn) requested leave to amend the Resolution as follows:

"By deleting the word "graduate" in the first recital and substituting the words "post-secondary" and by deleting the word "graduates" in the second and third recitals and substituting the words "post-secondary students".

Leave being granted debate continued on the Resolution as amended.

During the debate the Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) moved, seconded by the Member for Burgeo – LaPoile (Mr. Parsons), the following amendment to the Resolution:

"That the fifth paragraph of the Resolution be deleted and the following substituted:

"THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this House of Assembly calls upon the federal and provincial governments to eliminate the interest charged on student loans that are in good standing".

The Speaker (Mr. Fitzgerald) suspended proceedings at 3:17 o'clock in the afternoon to consider the amendment.

The Speaker (Mr. Fitzgerald) resumed the Chair at 3:24 o'clock in the afternoon and ruled the amendment in order.

Debate continued and concluded on the amendment to the Resolution and the Resolution itself.

The Speaker (Mr. Osborne) put the question on the amendment.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Ms. Jones; Mr. Parsons; Ms. Michael.

Against: Mr. Rideout; Ms. Burke; Mr. Kennedy; Ms. Whalen; Mr. Hedderson; Mr. Tom Marshall; Mr. Ridgley; Ms. Johnson; Mr. Skinner; Mr. O'Brien; Ms. Pottle; Mr. Hickey; Mr. Oram; Mr. Denine; Mr. Dinn; Mr. Kent; Mr. Baker; Mr. Hunter; Ms. Elizabeth Marshall; Mr. Collins; Ms. Sheila Osborne; Mr. King; Ms. Sullivan; Mr. Dalley; Mr. Peach; Mr. Verge; Mr. Hutchings; Mr. Harding; Mr. French; Mr. Young; Mr. Forsey; Mr. Loder; Mr. Buckingham; Mr. Cornect; Mr. Kelly.

The Speaker declared the motion defeated.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Rideout, Ms. Burke, Mr. Kennedy, Ms. Whalen, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Tom Marshall, Mr. Ridgley, Ms. Johnson, Mr. Skinner, Mr. O'Brien, Ms. Pottle, Mr. Hickey, Mr. Oram, Mr. Denine, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Kent, Mr. Baker, Mr. Hunter, Ms. Elizabeth Marshall, Mr. Collins, Ms. Sheila Osborne, Mr. King, Ms. Sullivan, Mr. Dalley, Mr. Peach, Mr. Verge, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Harding, Mr. French, Mr. Young, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Loder, Mr. Buckingham, Mr. Cornect, Mr. Kelly, Ms. Jones, Mr. Parsons, Ms. Michael.

The Speaker declared the Resolution carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Thursday, April 17th at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly.