Wednesday, May 19th, 2010

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Signal Hill – Quidi Vidi (Ms. Michael) made a Statement to congratulate Helen Fogwill Porter who was recently inducted into the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council Hall of Fame.

The Member for Labrador West (Mr. Baker) made a Statement to congratulate the Northern Lights Theatre Company for their impressive showing at the 60th annual provincial drama festival held in April in Corner Brook.

The Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Jones) made a Statement to congratulate the 29 women who were awarded their 35-year service pins at the Labrador Straits Women's Institute 37th Anniversary Dinner.

The Member for St. John's East (Mr. Buckingham) made a Statement to congratulate Andrew O'Dea on being named a co-winner of the 2010 City of St. John's Youth of the Year Award.

The Member for St. John's West (Ms. Osborne) made a Statement to congratulate Heather Anne Conway on being named a co-winner of the 2010 City of St. John's Youth of the Year Award.

The Honourable the Minister of Tourism, Culture & Recreation (Mr. French) made a Statement to inform the House of the Provincial Government's investment in a campaign designed to place Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) in key public places throughout the Province.

The Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs (Ms. Whalen) made a Statement to recognize Municipal Awareness Day.

The Member for Port de Grave (Mr. Butler) presented a Petition calling on the House of Assembly to have compassion on the citizens of the Province and allow them to build cabins on Kruger lands.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Lewisporte (Mr. Verge):

"WHEREAS the Provincial Government has engaged post-secondary students since 2003 and to demonstrate that this government is listening to students, it has implemented a suite of initiatives to improve access to post-secondary education in Newfoundland and Labrador, including a multi-year tuition fee freeze at Memorial

Wednesday, May 19th, 2010

University and College of the North Atlantic and significant improvements to the student aid program benefiting current students and graduates;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House applauds the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador for its outstanding national leadership on student aid and post-secondary accessibility, as demonstrated by its many actions including, most recently, the elimination of interest on the provincial portion of student loans effective August 1, 2009 and the extension of the tuition fee freeze at Memorial University and College of the North Atlantic for yet another year."

The Speaker (Mr. Fitzgerald) put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Ms. Burke, Ms. Dunderdale, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Skinner, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Wiseman, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Felix Collins, Mr. Tom Osborne, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Ridgley, Ms. Johnson, Mr. French, Ms. Pottle, Mr. King, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. Hickey, Ms. Sullivan, Mr. Denine, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Davis, Mr. Baker, Ms. Perry, Mr. Dalley, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Pollard, Ms. Sheila Osborne, Mr. Peach, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Verge, Mr. Young, Mr. Harding, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Kent, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Loder, Mr. Buckingham, Mr. Cornect, Mr. Sandy Collins, Mr. Kelvin Parsons, Mr. Dean.

The Speaker declared the Resolution carried *nemine contradicente*.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Thursday, May 20th at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly.