Tuesday, April 19th, 2011

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) moved "That this House approves in general the budgetary policy of the Government" and delivered the Budget Speech.

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) that debate on the Budget Speech be adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) informed the House that he had received a Message from His Honour the Lieutenant Governor. The Message was read to the House by the Speaker as follows:

"19 April, 2011

As Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, I transmit Estimates of sums required for the Public Service of the Province for the year ending 31 March 2012, in the aggregate of \$7,360,504,100, and in accordance with the provisions of sections 54 and 90 of the *Constitution Act, 1867*, I recommend these Estimates to the House of Assembly.

Sgd. **John C. Crosbie**, Lieutenant Governor".

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) that the Message together with the Estimates, be referred to a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

Pursuant to order and on motion the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

Tuesday, April 19th, 2011

The Speaker left the Chair.

Mr. Osborne took the Chair of Committee of the Whole House.

The budgetary documents were distributed.

On motion the Committee rose.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole (Mr. Osborne) reported that the Committee had considered the matters to them referred and had directed him to report that they had made some progress and asked leave to sit again.

On motion the report of the Committee was received and adopted and on motion it was ordered that the Committee have leave to sit again on tomorrow.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act To Amend The Income Tax Act, 2000" (Bill No. 31).

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act To Amend The Tax Agreement Act, 2010" (Bill No. 32).

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Marshall) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act To Amend The Revenue Administration Act No. 2" (Bill No. 33).

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Ms. Burke) moved, by leave pursuant to Standing Order 65(1)(a)(b) and (c) that the composition of the Government Services, Resource and Social Services Committees be as follows:

GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Clayton Forsey – Member for Exploits

Mr. Roland Butler - Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Ed Buckingham – Member for St. John's East

Mr. Marshall Dean- Member for The Straits- White Bay North

Mr. John Dinn – Member for Kilbride

Mr. Terry Loder – Member for Bay of Islands

Tuesday, April 19th, 2011

Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Mr. Kelvin Parsons – Member for Burgeo – La Poile

Mr. Kevin Pollard – Member for Baie Verte - Springdale

RESOURCE COMMITTEE

Mr. Wade Verge – Member for Lewisporte

Mr. Kelvin Parsons – Member for Burgeo – La Poile

Mr. Jim Baker – Member for Labrador West

Mr. David Brazil - Member for Conception Bay East - Bell Island

Mr. Paul Davis – Member for Topsail

Mr. Marshall Dean – Member for The Straits – White Bay North

Mr. Ray Hunter – Member for Grand Falls-Windsor – Green Bay South

Ms. Yvonne Jones – Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair

Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Keith Hutchings – Member for Ferryland

Mr. Roland Butler - Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Tony Cornect – Member for Port au Port

Mr. Marshall Dean – Member for The Straits – White Bay North

Ms. Yvonne Jones – Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair

Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Mr. Kevin Parsons – Member for Cape St. Francis

Mr. Bob Ridgley – Member for St. John's North

Mr. Wallace Young – Member for St. Barbe.

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Ms. Burke) further moved, by leave, pursuant to Standing Order 74(1), that

(a) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Government Services Committee**:

Finance & Treasury Board
Public Service Commission
Office of the Chief Information Office
Government Services
Government Purchasing Agency
Transportation and Works

Tuesday, April 19th, 2011

Labrador Affairs Aboriginal Affairs Intergovernmental Affairs Volunteer and Non-Profit Sector;

(b) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Resource Committee**:

Business

Environment and Conservation

Fisheries and Aquaculture

Innovation, Trade and Rural Development

Newfoundland and Labrador Research Development Council

Rural Secretariat

Status of Women & Francophone Affairs

Natural Resources

Agrifoods and Forestry

Tourism, Culture and Recreation; and

(c) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Social Services**Committee:

Child, Youth and Family Services

Human Resources, Labour and Employment

Status of Persons with Disabilities

Labour Relation Agency

Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation & Youth Engagement

Municipal Affairs

Justice

Education

Health and Community Services

The Speaker put the questions on the motions and declared the motions carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Wednesday, April 20th at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon.

Tuesday, April 19th, 2011

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

William MacKenzie, Clerk of the House of Assembly.