Wednesday, December 12th, 2012

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Mr. Edmunds) made a Statement to congratulate Jens Haven Memorial Huskies Boys' volleyball team, winners of the provincial championship.

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Forsey) made a Statement to congratulate Leah Sheppard who has received the certificate of appointment as Senior Environmental Cadet for the Royal Canadian Air Cadets of Newfoundland and Labrador for 2012-2013.

The Member for Humber West (Mr. Granter) made a Statement to congratulate Gertrude Hynes and Beverley Smith, recipients of Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) made a Statement to recognize Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal recipients Bernice Miller, Pat O'Keefe Sr. and Melvin Hong.

The Member for Burgeo – La Poile (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to congratulate St. John the Evangelist Church on their 100th anniversary.

The Member for Bay of Islands (Mr. Joyce) made a Statement to congratulate Evelyn Hancock upon her receipt of a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

The Honourable the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation (Mr. French) made a Statement to congratulate Matthew Rogers, one of the six award winners of this year's Young Citizens' Program.

The Honourable the Minister of Child, Youth and Family Services and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women (Ms. Johnson) made a Statement to announce that \$200,000 in funding has been awarded to nine projects aimed at addressing violence against Aboriginal women and children in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Member for St. Barbe (Mr. Bennett) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to partner with the private sector to provide High Speed internet services to Bird Cove.

The Member for St. John's East (Mr. Murphy) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to cease the use of chemicals covered under the pesticide ban and begin using safer methods of brush clearance.

Wednesday, December 12th, 2012

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Humber Valley (Mr. Ball):

"WHEREAS the electricity market of Newfoundland and Labrador is a monopoly where ratepayers have no choice in their preferred electricity supplier;

AND WHEREAS robust, independent regulation assures ratepayers that they will have access to electrical power at the lowest possible cost consistent with reliable service;

AND WHEREAS electricity is an essential commodity for domestic and commercial use and the oversight of the cost of its service is in the public interest;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this House endorses the principle of independent electrical utility regulation for the establishment of electricity rates in the Province to protect the interests of provincial ratepayers."

During the debate the Honourable the Minister of Natural Resources (Mr. Kennedy) moved, seconded by the Honourable the Minister of Justice (Mr. King), the following amendment:

"That the Private Members' Resolution now before the House be amended by adding, after the word regulation, in the resolution clause, a comma and the words where in compliance with federal and provincial laws".

The Speaker suspended the proceedings at 3:39 o'clock in the afternoon to consider the amendment.

The Speaker resumed the Chair at 3:44 o'clock in the afternoon and ruled the amendment in order.

Debate continued and concluded on the amendment to the Resolution and the Resolution itself.

The Speaker (Mr. Wiseman) put the question on the amendment.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. King, Ms. Shea, Mr. Davis, Ms. Sullivan, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Verge, Mr. Littlejohn, Mr. Granter, Mr. Cornect, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Dalley, Mr. Felix Collins, Mr. Sandy Collins, Mr. Kent, Mr. Lane, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin

Wednesday, December 12th, 2012

Parsons, Mr. Little, Mr. Cross, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Peach, Mr. Crummell, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Russell, Mr. Ball, Ms. Jones, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Edmunds, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Osborne.

Against: Ms. Michael, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Murphy, Mr. Mitchelmore, Ms. Rogers.

The Speaker declared the amendment carried.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. King, Ms. Shea, Mr. Davis, Ms. Sullivan, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Verge, Mr. Littlejohn, Mr. Granter, Mr. Cornect, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Dalley, Mr. Felix Collins, Mr. Sandy Collins, Mr. Kent, Mr. Lane, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Little, Mr. Cross, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Peach, Mr. Crummell, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Russell, Mr. Ball, Ms. Jones, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Edmunds, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Osborne.

Against: Ms. Michael, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Murphy, Mr. Mitchelmore, Ms. Rogers.

The Speaker declared the Resolution as amended carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Thursday, December 13th at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.