Wednesday, November 13th, 2013

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Cape St. Francis (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to congratulate Jack and Elizabeth Hogan on the 50th anniversary of the opening of their business – District Drugs.

The Member for Signal Hill – Quidi Vidi (Ms. Michael) made a Statement to congratulate CUPE on their 50th anniversary.

The Member for The Straits – White Bay North (Mr. Mitchelmore) made a Statement to recognize Korean War Veteran Mr. Frank Slade.

The Member for St. John's East (Mr. Murphy) made a Statement to congratulate students of Gonzaga and Holy Heart High Schools who received the Duke of Edinburgh Award in June.

The Member for St. John's South (Mr. Osborne) made a Statement to congratulate the Feildians Athletic Association Boys' Under-14 soccer team, Provincial Champions and Provincial representatives at the Club Nationals championship.

The Member for Burgeo – La Poile (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to congratulate Tyler LeFrense who was the recent winner of Lay's "Do Us a Flavour" contest.

The Honourable the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation (Mr. French) made a Statement about the MusicNL Awards.

The Honourable the Minister Responsible for the Office of Climate Change, Energy Efficiency and Emissions Trading (Ms. Shea) made a Statement to update the House on the progress made in implementing the 2011 Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Action Plans.

The Member for The Straits – White Bay North (Mr. Mitchelmore) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to assist providers to ensure that Great Brehat is in receipt of broadband internet services.

The Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Dempster) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to designate Cartwright as a shipping post for freight destined to the North Coast of Labrador beginning with the 2014 shipping season.

Wednesday, November 13th, 2013

The Member for St. Barbe (Mr. Bennett) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to partner with the private sector to extend cell phone coverage throughout Gros Morne National Park and the enclave communities within the Park.

The Member for Burgeo – La Poile (Mr. Parsons) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to support the users of Route 480 in their request to have Route 480 resurfaced.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Bonavista South (Mr. Little):

"BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House

- (1) acknowledges the tremendous importance to Newfoundland and Labrador of the terms of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement-in-principle (CETA) between Canada and the European Union for which the Provincial Government successfully advocated; and
- (2) supports the decision of the Federal and Provincial Governments to establish a \$400 million fund to improve our fishing industry's global competitiveness to capitalize more fully on the phenomenal opportunities that CETA will generate for Newfoundlanders and Labradorians."

During the debate the Member for St. Barbe (Mr. Bennett) moved the following amendment to the Resolution:

"That the following words be added before the word "supports" in the second Resolution clause

(2) 'Subject to the Provincial Government and Federal Government providing further details of the CETA agreement to the people of the Province, public consultations being held regarding those details, and the CETA agreement being finalized."

The Speaker (Mr. Wiseman) suspended the proceedings at 3:25 o'clock in the afternoon to consider the amendment.

The Speaker (Mr. Wiseman) resumed the Chair at 3:40 o'clock in the afternoon and ruled that the amendment was not in order.

Wednesday, November 13th, 2013

Debate continued and concluded on the Resolution.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Ms. Shea, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. Davis, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Crummell, Mr. French, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Littlejohn, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Dalley, Ms. Sullivan, Mr. Kent, Mr. Felix Collins, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Cross, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Brazil, Mr. Granter, Mr. Sandy Collins, Mr. Lane, Mr. Cornect, Mr. Peach, Ms. Perry, Mr. Little, Mr. Russell, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Mitchelmore.

Against: Mr. Joyce, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Edmunds, Ms. Dempster, Ms. Michael, Mr. Murphy, Ms. Rogers.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution and declared the Resolution defeated.

The Speaker then adjourned the House without question put pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.