Wednesday, November 27th, 2013

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Terra Nova (Mr. Collins) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Pastor Benjamin Elliott and Pastor Rita Elliott for the contribution they have made to the communities they have served.

The Member for Port au Port (Mr. Cornect) made a Statement to congratulate the Town of Cape St. George for being recognized with an environmental excellence award from the Department of Environment and Conservation and the Torngat Award for Environmental Sustainability from Municipalities of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Member for Bonavista North (Mr. Cross) made a Statement to congratulate the Town of Centreville-Wareham-Trinity on the success of their Come Home Year in August, 2013.

The Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Dempster) made a Statement to recognize Regan Burden for her achievement and her contribution to her community.

The Member for Kilbride (Mr. Dinn) made a Statement to congratulate Electoral District Scholarship winners Sarah Winsor, William Newhook and Connor Whalen.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Mr. Edmunds) made a Statement to congratulate Miss Caitlyn Baikie for her achievements.

The Honourable the Minister Responsible for Labrador and Aboriginal Affairs (Mr. McGrath) made a Statement to inform the House about the Air Foodlift Subsidy.

The Honourable the Minister of Service NL (Mr. Crummell) made a Statement to provide an update on the Implementation of the Accountability Framework for Regulatory Reform.

The Honourable the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation (Mr. French) made a Statement to inform the House that five new designates of the Provincial Historic Commemorations Program were recently announced.

The Member for St. John's South (Mr. Osborne) raised a point of order respecting an allegation regarding his vote on the Budget. The Speaker took the matter under advisement.

The Honourable the Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture (Mr. Hutchings) tabled a letter from the Member for St. Barbe dated January 29th, 2013 and the response from the Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture dated February 27th, 2013.

Wednesday, November 27th, 2013

The Honourable the Minister of Advanced Education and Skills (Mr. O'Brien) tabled a document from which he had read during Oral Questions, relating to Poverty Reduction.

The Honourable the Speaker (Mr. Wiseman) tabled the Citizens' Representative Annual Digest for the period April 1, 2012 – March 31, 2013.

The Honourable the Minister of Child, Youth and Family Services (Mr. Davis) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act Respecting Adoptions" (Bill No. 27).

The Member for St. John's North (Mr. Kirby) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to introduce a full-day kindergarten programme for children and families in the Province.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Exploits (Mr. Forsey):

"BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House supports the Government's decision to provide the Newfoundland and Labrador Seniors' Benefit, a refundable tax credit for low-income seniors which, this year, is providing some 42,000 seniors in our Province with payments of up to \$971, the highest amount ever".

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution and declared the Resolution defeated.

A division was requested.

The Speaker stated "This House now adjourns".

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. King, Ms. Shea, Mr. O'Brien, Mr. Davis, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Crummell, Mr. French, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Jackman, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Verge, Mr. Littlejohn, Mr. Hedderson, Mr. Dalley, Ms. Sullivan, Mr. Kent, Mr. Felix Collins, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Cross, Mr. Forsey, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Dinn, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Brazil, Mr. Sandy Collins, Mr. Lane, Mr. Cornect, Mr. Peach, Ms. Perry, Mr. Little, Mr. Russell, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Edmunds, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Mitchelmore.

Against: Ms. Michael, Ms. Rogers.

Wednesday, November 27th, 2013

The Speaker declared the Resolution carried.

The Speaker then adjourned the House without question put pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.