Tuesday, April 26th, 2016

The House met at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Harbour Grace – Port de Grave (Ms. Parsons) made a Statement to recognize the seniors in her District.

The Member for Fogo Island – Cape Freels (Mr. Bragg) made a Statement to congratulate the Pearson Academy drama team, and their teacher Craig Loder, for their accomplishments.

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. Petten) made a Statement to recognize the recipients and nominees honoured at the 2015 Conception Bay South Athletic Awards Ceremony.

The Member for Placentia West – Bellevue (Mr. Browne) made a Statement to thank Mark Smith for his generosity to a team of young soccer players from Newfoundland and Labrador travelling to Montreal.

The Member for Virginia Waters – Pleasantville (Mr. Bernard Davis) made a Statement to recognize Gabrielle Murphy for her hard work as a volunteer and as a student.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Paul Davis) made a Statement to commend all the volunteers who contributed to the success of the Law Enforcement Torch Run.

The Commemoration of the First World War and the Battle of Beaumont Hamel Honor 100

The Member for Corner Brook (Mr. Byrne) read the following names:

Hennessey, Patrick Joseph Herder, Arthur J. Herder, Hubert Clinton Herder, Wallace Hewlett, Armenius Hibbs, John Hibbs, John Leslie Hickey, Edward Hickey, Robert Hickey, William Hickman, Chester Hicks, Philip Seymour

Tuesday, April 26th, 2016

The House observed a minute of silence.

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Randy Ralph and the late Shannon Pittman and to offer condolences to their families, friends and colleagues.

The Honourable the Minister of Health and Community Services (Mr. Haggie) made a Statement to recognize the week of April 24-30 as National Immunization Awareness Week.

The Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs (Mr. Joyce) made a Statement to recognize the recipients of long service awards presented at the Professional Municipal Administrators at their AGM, convention and trade show.

The Honourable the Minister of Business, Tourism, Culture and Recreation and Minister responsible for Forestry and Agrifoods (Mr. Mitchelmore) tabled the Chicken Farmers' of Newfoundland and Labrador Annual Performance Report for the fiscal year 2015.

The Member for St. John's East – Quidi Vidi (Ms. Michael) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to ensure that the Deficit Reduction Levy is eliminated and any replacement measure is based on progressive taxation principles and that an independent review of the provincial tax system begins immediately.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to reverse its decision and not bring hardship upon the residents of Masonic Park and find alternative measures that will allow them to continue to stay at the place they call home.

The Member for Cape St. Francis (Mr. Parsons) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to stop the introduction of the temporary deficit reduction levy immediately.

The Member for St. John's Centre (Ms. Rogers) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to ensure that the Deficit Reduction Levy is eliminated and any replacement measure is based on progressive taxation principles and that an independent review of the provincial tax system begins immediately.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate continued and concluded on the subamendment to the Budget motion. The Speaker put the question on the motion.

Tuesday, April 26th, 2016

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Kent, Mr. Brazil, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Ms. Michael, Ms. Rogers.

Against: Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Mr. Crocker, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Mr. Lane, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Mitchelmore, Mr. Edmunds, Mr. Letto, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Bragg, Ms. Parsley, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Warr, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dean, Mr. King.

The Speaker declared the sub-amendment defeated.

Debate continued on the amendment to the Budget motion (being a non-confidence motion) and on motion debate adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Wednesday, April 27^{th} at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.