Wednesday, April 27th, 2016

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Dean) made a Statement to recognize Stacie Woolridge and Melvin Hanhams for their success at the Canada Special Olympic Winter Games.

The Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Dempster) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Hazel Thomas.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Mr. Edmunds) made a Statement to thank Air Labrador for bringing attention to mental illness and honouring the memory of Dorothy Angnatok.

The Member for Stephenville – Port au Port (Mr. Finn) made a Statement to congratulate winners of the 37th Stephen Awards.

The Member for Burin – Grand Bank (Ms. Haley) made a Statement to congratulate Justin Dodge for his success at the Special Olympics Winter Games.

The Member for Terra Nova (Mr. Holloway) made a Statement to recognize the Board of Directors of the Eastport Peninsula Heritage Society for their vision in establishing the Beaches Arts and Heritage Centre.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Davis) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Dr. John Collins.

The Commemoration of the First World War and the Battle of Beaumont Hamel Honor 100

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Dean) read the following names:

Higgins, Edmund James	Hoddinott, Samuel	Horwood, Henry
Hilliard, Silas	Hoddinott, William	Hoskins, Edgar
Hillier, Llewelyn	Hogan, Gerald	Houlahan, James Patrick
Hiscock, Alfred	Holden, Lucas	Hounsell, Japheth
Hiscock, Edmund	Holden, Patrick	House, George
Hiscock, John	Hollahan, Joseph	House, John
Hiscock, Samuel	Holland, Michael John	Howard, James John
Hoare, Edward John	Hollett, George	Howell, Arthur
Hobbs, Charles	Hollett, George	Howell, Thomas
Hobbs, Eliol	Holloway, Albert	Hoyles, Joseph
Hobbs, John	Holloway, Robert Palfrey	Hoyles, Obadiah
Hockley, John Herbert	Holmes, Aubrey	Hudson, George
Hodder, Stewart	Hooper, Samuel Mayo	
Hoddinott, Ludwig Duncan	Horwood, Albert	

Wednesday, April 27th, 2016

The House observed a minute of silence.

The Honourable the Minister of Health and Community Services (Mr. Haggie) made a Statement to recognize April 27th as Daffodil Day.

The Honourable the Minister of Transportation and Works (Mr. Hawkins) made a Statement to inform the House about the Government's investment in the Provincial Roads Program.

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr Petten) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to increase the law enforcement presence in the Conception Bay South area.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to reverse its decision and not bring hardship upon the residents of Masonic Park and find alternative measures that will allow them to continue to stay at the place they call home.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Bonavista (Mr. King):

"WHEREAS the First World War was a significant event in the history of Newfoundland and Labrador;

AND WHEREAS Honour 100 represents the Provincial Government's commitment to commemorating Newfoundland and Labrador's First World War story and will focus on significant anniversaries; legacy, education, provincial outreach and research:

AND WHEREAS, as a Province, we will honour the sacrifices made by our veterans and come together to commemorate the anniversary on July 1st, engaging our young people to learn more about the history that has shaped this place we call home;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this House of Assembly calls upon all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians to join with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador to mark this centennial day and commemorate those brave men and women by participating in planned events at the National War Memorial and community memorials throughout our Province."

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution and declared the Resolution carried.

Wednesday, April 27th, 2016

The Speaker then adjourned the House until Thursday at 1:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.