Wednesday, May 18th, 2016

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Lewisporte – Twillingate (Mr. Bennett) made a Statement to recognize the Calypso Foundation for their service to their community.

The Member for Fogo Island – Cape Freels (Mr. Bragg) made a Statement to congratulate the Central Loopers Under-17 volleyball team which won gold at a tournament in Saskatoon.

The Member for Conception Bay East – Bell Island (Mr. Brazil) made a Statement to congratulate a group of students from St. Michael High School who performed traditional Newfoundland and Labrador music and dance live on Canada AM.

The Member for Placentia West – Bellevue (Mr. Browne) made a Statement to congratulate Mrs. Hazel Baker who has celebrated her 100th birthday.

The Member for Virginia Waters – Pleasantville (Mr. Bernard Davis) made a Statement to congratulate Vanier Elementary Grade 4 and 5 classes for their commitment to protecting the environment.

By leave the Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Paul Davis) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Harold Collins.

The Commemoration of the First World War and the Battle of Beaumont Hamel Honor 100

The Member for Mount Pearl – Southlands (Mr. Lane) read the following names:

Pennell, William Penney, Alexander Penney, Augustus Penney, Josiah H. Penney, Sim Penny, Arthur Joseph Penny, Isaac Penny, Robert Penny, Simeon T. Penny, William Edward Penny, William H. Penton, Ignatius Peppas, H. N. Perran, William G. Perry, Alfred Perry, Percy Perry, Reuben Oliver Perry, Warrick Petite, Philip Peyton, Joseph Peyton, Stephen Phelan, James Phelan, William A. Phelan, William Francis Phillips, George Phillips, Robert Picco, Francis Picco, Martin Piercey, Berkeley Piercey, Charlie A. Piercey, John Charles Pieroway, Edward Pike, Francis Pike, George Edward Pike, James Joseph Pike, Manuel Edward Pike, Rendle Anthony Pike, Stanley Gordon Pilgrim, Richard B. Pinsent, Stanley Stewart

The House observed a minute of silence.

Wednesday, May 18th, 2016

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to inform the House that he had spoken at the International Police and Peace Officer Memorial Service and to recognize the sacrifices of Police and Peace officers.

The Honourable the Minister of Business, Tourism, Culture and Rural Development (Mr. Mitchelmore) made a Statement to congratulate Chad Pelley whose novel "Away from Everywhere" will be featured in a screen adaptation by Mark Hoffe at the Cannes Film Festival.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Bennett) tabled a document relating to Newfoundland and Labrador Personal Income Tax.

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) gave notice that he would on tomorrow move, pursuant to Standing Order 11, that the House not adjourn at 5:30 o'clock in the afternoon and that the House not adjourn at 10 o'clock in the evening on Thursday, May 19th, 2016.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Davis) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to introduce legislation containing a presumptive clause with respect to PTSD for people employed in various frontline emergency response professions – including firefighters, Emergency Medical Services professionals and police officers not already covered under federal legislation.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for St. John's East – Quidi Vidi (Ms. Michael):

"BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Assembly urges the Government to ensure that the Deficit Reduction Levy is immediately eliminated and that any replacement measure be based on progressive taxation principles and further urges that an independent review of the Newfoundland and Labrador provincial income tax system begin promptly to make it fairer to Newfoundlanders and Labradorians".

During the debate, the Honourable the Minister of Advanced Education and Skills (Mr. Kirby), seconded by the Member for Placentia West – Bellevue (Mr. Browne) the following amendment:

"That the Resolution be amended by adding immediately before the word "Deficit" the word "Temporary" and by deleting the words "immediately eliminated" and substituting the words "eliminated as soon as possible" and by deleting the words "that any replacement measure be based on progressive taxation principles and further urges" and by deleting the words "begin promptly to make it fairer to Newfoundlanders and Labradorians" and substituting the words "be initiated in 2016-17 to ensure fairness and competitiveness".

The Speaker (Mr. Osborne) suspended the proceedings at 3:29 o'clock in the afternoon to consider the amendment.

The Speaker (Mr. Osborne) resumed the Chair at 3:44 o'clock in the afternoon and ruled the amendment in order.

Debate continued and concluded on the amendment to the Resolution and the Resolution itself.

The Speaker put the question on the amendment.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Ball, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Mr. Crocker, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Browne, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Mitchelmore, Mr. Letto, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Bragg, Ms. Parsley, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Warr, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dean, Mr. King.

Against: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Kent, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Petten, Ms. Michael, Ms. Rogers, Mr. Lane.

The Speaker declared the amendment carried.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution as amended.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Ball, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Mr. Crocker, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Browne, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Mitchelmore, Mr. Letto, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Bragg, Ms. Parsley, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Warr, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dean, Mr. King.

Against: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Kent, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Petten, Ms. Michael, Ms. Rogers, Mr. Lane.

Wednesday, May 18th, 2016

The Speaker declared the Resolution as amended, carried.

The Speaker then adjourned the House until Thursday at 1:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.