## Wednesday, December 7<sup>th</sup>, 2016

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Harbour Grace – Port de Grave (Ms. Parsons) made a Statement to recognize Mr. Hayward Shute for his contribution to his community and to congratulate Mr. Shute and Mrs. Joan Shute on their 50<sup>th</sup> wedding anniversary.

The Member for Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune (Ms. Perry) made a Statement to recognize the 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary of Incorporation of the Town of Belleoram.

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. Petten) made a Statement to congratulate six young people from the District of Conception Bay South who received gold pins and bronze and silver certificates at the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award ceremony on November 29<sup>th</sup>.

The Member for St. George's – Humber (Mr. Reid) made a Statement to congratulate the Western Newfoundland Brewing Company on bringing their beer to market and wish them well in their future endeavours.

The Member for St. John's Centre (Ms. Rogers) made a Statement to thank Freddie Walsh for her years of community service and generosity.

The Member for Baie Verte – Green Bay (Mr. Warr) made a Statement to congratulate Mrs. Josephine McKay who celebrated her 100<sup>th</sup> birthday on April 11<sup>th</sup>.

The Honourable the Minister of Health and Community Services (Mr. Haggie) made a Statement to recognize the work of the Gathering Place and in particular the work of their Parish Nurses.

The Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs (Mr. Joyce) made a Statement to recognize December 1-7 as National Safe Driving Week.

The Honourable the Speaker (Mr. Osborne) tabled, in accordance with section 51 of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act,* the annual report of the House of Assembly Management Commission for the 2015-16 fiscal year.

The Honourable the Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development (Ms. Gambin-Walsh) gave notice that she would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act Respecting The Seniors' Advocate" (Bill No. 64).

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. Petten) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge

## Wednesday, December 7<sup>th</sup>, 2016

Government to reinstate home care supports and develop a plan to address further the growing needs of people requiring home care support.

The Member for St. John's Centre (Ms. Rogers) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to keep libraries open and work on a long term plan to strengthen the library system.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to develop a strategy which capitalizes on opportunities for trade between the United Kingdom and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Pursuant to notice and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Ferryland (Mr. Hutchings):

"BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Assembly urges Government to request the Conflict of Interest Advisory Committee pursuant to Section 14 of the Conflict of Interest Act, 1995 to review the terms of employment contract of the Chief Executive Officer of Nalcor Energy and Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro and determine the appropriateness of the employment contract;

**AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that this House urges the Lieutenant-Governor in Council to ensure the Conflict of Interest Advisory Committee's report on this review be made public".

During the debate the Honourable the Minister of Natural Resources (Ms. Coady) tabled her letter dated November 10, 2016 to Mr. H. Stanley Marshall.

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Kent, Ms. Perry, Mr. Petten, Ms. Michael, Mr. Lane.

Against: Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Mr. Warr, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Browne, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Mitchelmore, Mr. Edmunds, Mr. Letto, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Mr. Holloway, Ms. Parsley, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Bragg, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dean, Mr. King.

The Speaker declared the Resolution defeated.

## Wednesday, December 7<sup>th</sup>, 2016

The Speaker then adjourned the House until Thursday at 1:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 9.

**Sandra Barnes,** Clerk of the House of Assembly.