## Thursday, May 4<sup>th</sup>, 2017

The House met at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Mr. Edmunds) made a Statement to recognize the "Hope Walkers" who have forged a bond between the Inuit and Innu communities through their participation in a walk from Hopedale to Natuashish.

The Member for Harbour Main (Ms. Parsley) made a Statement to congratulate Shailynn Snow for her athletic accomplishments.

The Member for Burin – Grand Bank (Ms. Haley) made a Statement to congratulate Vic Lundrigan who has been named the recipient of a NAPE Step Up award.

The Member for Terra Nova (Mr. Holloway) made a Statement to congratulate the Board of Directors of the Glovertown Public Library for their contribution to their community.

The Member for Ferryland (Mr. Hutchings) made a Statement to congratulate HaeNa Luther who is the junior high and provincial winner of the Heritage Poster Foundation Contest.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) made a Statement to congratulate Sally Seward who is the winner of this year's 2016 Citizen of the Year Award in Mount Pearl.

The Honourable the Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development (Mr. Kirby) made a Statement to inform the House that the National Physical and Health Education Conference will take place this week at the Sheraton Hotel in St. John's.

The Honourable the Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development (Ms. Gambin-Walsh) made a Statement to inform the House about Government's investment of \$1.79 million in the Community Healthy Living Fund.

The Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair (Ms. Dempster) presented the Report of the Social Services Committee.

The Honourable the Speaker (Mr. Osborne), in compliance with Sections 8 and 10 of the *Public Tender Act*, tabled the Report of *Public Tender Act* Exceptions for February, 2017.

## Thursday, May 4<sup>th</sup>, 2017

The Member for Conception Bay East – Bell Island (Mr. Brazil) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to cancel the book tax immediately.

The Member for Ferryland (Mr. Hutchings) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to ensure that the new school for Witless Bay announced in Budget 2015 is built.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate continued on the amendment to the Budget motion (being a non-confidence motion).

Debate concluded on the amendment.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Petten, Ms. Michael, Ms. Rogers, Mr. Lane.

Against: Mr. Ball, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Mr. Hawkins, Mr. Crocker, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Browne, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Mitchelmore, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Ms. Parsley, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Bragg, Mr. Finn.

The Speaker declared the motion defeated.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Monday, May 8<sup>th</sup> at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.