## Monday, May 15<sup>th</sup>, 2017

The House met at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Member for Ferryland (Mr. Hutchings) made a Statement to recognize Stephen Coffey who will be the recipient of a St. Johns Ambulance Life-Saving Award for providing assistance to a friend which ultimately saved his life.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) made a Statement to recognize Green Rock Electric Vehicle Solutions, the only one hundred percent electric vehicle dealer and service centre in Atlantic Canada.

The Member for Stephenville – Port au Port (Mr. Finn) made a Statement to recognize John St. Croix for his academic and athletic accomplishments and contributions to his community.

The Member for Mount Pearl – Southlands (Mr. Lane) made a Statement to recognize the success of this year's Etcetera 31 presentation.

The Member for Labrador West (Mr. Letto) made a Statement to congratulate the 2017 graduation class of Menihek High School.

The Member for St. John's East – Quidi Vidi (Ms. Michael) made a Statement to congratulate Conservation Corps Newfoundland and Labrador on their 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

The Member for Lake Melville (Mr. Trimper) by leave made a Statement to acknowledge those who helped residents who were affected by the power failure in the District on the weekend of May 12<sup>th</sup>.

The Honourable the Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour (Mr. Byrne) made a Statement to inform the House of an increase in the hourly wage of Job Trainers.

The Honourable the Minister of Natural Resources (Ms. Coady) made a Statement to recognize the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Bay d'Espoir hydroelectric generating facility.

The Honourable the Minister of Service NL (Mr. Trimper), pursuant to section 56 of the *Automobile Insurance Act* tabled the 2016-17 Annual Report of the Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities on Operations Carried Out Under the Automobile Insurance Act.

The Member for Cape St. Francis (Mr. Parsons) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following Resolution:

"**BE IT RESOLVED** that this Honourable House urge the Government of Canada and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador to take immediate action to establish joint fisheries management."

The Honourable the Opposition House Leader (Mr. Hutchings) announced, pursuant to Standing Order 63(3), that the Resolution of which the Member for Cape St. Francis (Mr. Parsons) had given notice would be debated on Private Members' Day, Wednesday, May 17<sup>th</sup>.

The Honourable the Minister of Natural Resources (Ms. Coady) gave an answer to a question for which notice had been given by the Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Davis) respecting Ernst Young's work related to the Muskrat Falls Project.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to introduce recall legislation.

The Member for St. John's Centre (Ms. Rogers) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government not to impose a provincial sales tax on books.

The Member for Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune (Ms. Perry) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to open a line of communication with the Federal Government to advocate for a reduction in Marine Atlantic ferry rates.

The Member for St. John's East – Quidi Vidi (Ms. Michael) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to allow additional specialists trained and certified with ADOS to make the Autism Spectrum Disorder diagnosis.

The Member for Conception Bay East – Bell Island (Mr. Brazil) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to enhance the education system.

The Member for Mount Pearl North (Mr. Kent) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to introduce financial education into the Provincial curriculum.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced on the motion "That the Report of the Government Services Committee be concurred in".

The Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) moved, pursuant to provisional Standing Order 11(1) that the House not adjourn at 5:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

The Speaker put the question on the motion that the House not adjourn at 5:30 o'clock in the afternoon and declared the motion carried.

Debate continued and concluded on the motion that the House concur in the Report of the Government Services Committee.

The Speaker (Mr. Osborne) put the question on the motion that the House concur in the Report of the Government Services Committee.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Mr. Warr, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Browne, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Mitchelmore, Mr. Edmunds, Mr. Letto, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Mr. Holloway, Ms. Parsley, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Bragg, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dean, Mr. King.

Against: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Kent, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Petten, Ms. Rogers, Mr. Lane.

The Speaker declared the motion carried.

By agreement the proceedings were suspended at 5:44 o'clock in the afternoon for the dinner break.

The Speaker resumed the Chair at 6:30 o'clock in the evening.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate continued and concluded on the motion "That This House Approves in General the Budgetary Policy of the Government" (the Budget Speech).

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The House divided.

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Ball, Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Trimper, Mr. Warr, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Browne, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr.

## Monday, May 15<sup>th</sup>, 2017

Mitchelmore, Mr. Edmunds, Mr. Letto, Ms. Haley, Mr. Bernard Davis, Mr. Derek Bennett, Mr. Holloway, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Bragg, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dean, Mr. King.

Against: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Hutchings, Mr. Kent, Mr. Brazil, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Petten, Ms. Michael, Ms. Rogers.

The Speaker declared the motion carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Tuesday, May 16<sup>th</sup> at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.