Tuesday, March 27th, 2018

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Osborne) moved "That this House approves in general the budgetary policy of the Government". The Honourable the Minister of Finance then delivered the Budget Speech.

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Osborne), seconded by the Honourable the Premier (Mr. Ball) that debate on the Budget Speech be adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Osborne) informed the House that he had received a Message from His Honour the Lieutenant Governor. The Message was read to the House by the Speaker as follows:

"23 March, 2018

As Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, I transmit Estimates of sums required for the Public Service of the Province for the year ending 31 March 2019, in the aggregate of \$7,817,543,600, and in accordance with the provisions of sections 54 and 90 of the *Constitution Act, 1867*, I recommend these Estimates to the House of Assembly.

Sgd. Frank F. Fagan,

Lieutenant Governor".

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Osborne) that the Message together with the Estimates, be referred to a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

Tuesday, March 27th, 2018

Pursuant to order and on motion the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker left the Chair. Mr. Warr took the Chair of Committee of the Whole House.

The budgetary documents were distributed.

On motion the Committee rose.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole (Mr. Warr) reported that the Committee had considered the matters to them referred and had directed him to report that they had made some progress and ask leave to sit again.

On motion the report of the Committee was received and adopted and on motion it was ordered that the Committee have leave to sit again on tomorrow.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Mr. Osborne) gave notice that he would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce the following Bills:

- A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Revenue Administration Act" (Bill No. 7);
- A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Income Tax Act, 2000" (Bill No. 8);
- A Bill, "An Act To Amend The Revenue Administration Act No. 2" (Bill No. 9).

By leave, the Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons), moved pursuant to Standing Order 65(1)(a),(b) and (c) that the composition of the Government Services, Resource and Social Services Committees be as follows:

RESOURCE COMMITTEE

Mr. Brian Warr - Member for Baie Verte – Green Bay
Mr. Jerry Dean - Member for Exploits
Mr. Derrick Bragg - Member for Fogo Island – Cape Freels
Ms. Tracey Perry - Member for Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune
Mr. Jim Lester - Member for Mount Pearl North
Ms. Pam Parsons - Member for Harbour Grace – Port de Grave

Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for St. John's East – Quidi Vidi Mr. John Finn - Member for Stephenville – Port au Port

GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Randy Edmunds - Member for Torngat Mountains
Mr. Neil King - Member for Bonavista
Ms. Carol Anne Haley - Member for Burin – Grand Bank
Mr. Keith Hutchings - Member for Ferryland
Ms. Betty Parsley - Member for Harbour Main
Mr. Barry Petten - Member for Conception Bay South
Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for St. John's East – Quidi Vidi
Mr. John Finn - Member for Stephenville – Port au Port

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

Ms. Carol Anne Haley - Member for Burin – Grand Bank
Mr. Brian Warr - Member for Baie Verte – Green Bay
Mr. Kevin Parsons - Member for Cape St. Francis
Mr. David Brazil - Member for Conception Bay East – Bell Island
Mr. Jerry Dean - Member for Exploits
Ms. Betty Parsley - Member for Harbour Main
Mr. Scott Reid - Member for St. George's – Humber
Ms. Gerry Rogers - Member for St. John's Centre

The Speaker put the question on the motion and declared the motion carried.

By leave, the Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. Parsons) moved, pursuant to Standing Order 72(1) and (3) that

(a) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Government Services Committee**:

Consolidated Fund Services; the Department of Finance; the Executive Council; the Public Service Commission; Service NL; the Public Procurement Agency and the Department of Transportation and Works.

Tuesday, March 27th, 2018

(b) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Resource Committee**:

the Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour; the Department of Fisheries and Land Resources; the Department of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation and the Department of Natural Resources.

(c) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Social Services Committee**:

the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development; the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development; the Department of Health and Community Services; the Department of Justice and Public Safety; the Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment and the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation.

The Speaker put the question on the motion and declared the motion carried.

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Wednesday, March 28th at 10:00 o'clock in the morning.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.